Skip to main content

English Composition 2089: Researching Discourse

This guide provides resources for researching "discourse communities" and the documents, videos, reports, images and other materials they create.

Find Images

A discourse community may use images and media to communicate its aim.Here are some tools for finding images and tips for using them.

  • If the articles you find include images they will be displayed among your search results.
  • Note that charts and graphs are also important visuals - you may consider including those rather than or addition to photographs.
  • To search the EBSCO image collections, in the top (blue) menu bar click on "More - Images."
    Enter your search terms, for example "air pollution". You can be specific in your search, for example "air pollution" and china.

In the light blue menu bar click Images or Slideshows.

  • If the articles you find include images they will be displayed among your search results.
  • Note that charts and graphs are also important visuals - you may consider including those rather than or addition to photographs.
  • To search the EBSCO image collections, in the top (blue) menu bar click on "More - Images."
    Enter your search terms, for example "air pollution". You can be specific in your search, for example "air pollution" and china.

Find videos

It's not just YouTube! Try also the following:

Cite Titled Images

Library database Citation for an image form a library database MLA 8
Free Web

Citation for an image found on the free Web MLA 8

The collection which owns the image should be included in your citation along with its location as shown above.

Image reproduced in a printed source

 

Ctation for an image in a print source MLA 8

The examples are reproduced from http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/apa_examples.cfm#images and http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/mla_examples.cfm#images

Cite Untitled Images

If an image is untitled, create a brief, descriptive title for it. Do not italicize this title or place it in quotes, and capitalize only the first word and any proper nouns.

Library database Citation for an untitled image found in a database MLA 8
Image reproduced in a print source

Citation for an untitled image form a print source MLA 8

Give the number of the page that the image appears on after the book's publication information.

The examples are reproduced from http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/apa_examples.cfm#images and http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/mla_examples.cfm#images

Cite Film, TV, and Video

Examples

TV Series, Example 1

Citation for a TV series starting wioth the creator.

TV Series, Example 2

Citation  for a TV series beginning with the title

Episode in a TV Series (note "other contributors")

Citation for an episode in a TV Series

Episode in a TV Series (note the date the episode aired)

Citation for an episode for a TV series with the date the episode aired.

Episode in a TV Series watched on YouTube

Citation for an episode in a TV Series watched on YouTube

Episode in a TV Series watched online through Hulu

Citation for an episode in a TV Series watched online through Hulu

Episode in a TV Series on DVD

Citation for an episode in a TV series watched on DVD

Film (note the version in the second example)

Citation for a film

Citation for a film

The explanations and examples are taken from the MLA Handbook.

See also MLA Works Cited: Other Common Sources (Purdue OWL).

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati