Skip to main content

EndNote

Information about using EndNote

WELCOME to the EndNote Information Portal

Welcome to the University of Cincinnati Libraries' EndNote portal. The purpose of this portal is to connect UC students, faculty and staff with the information and resources they may require to effectively utilize EndNote.  What is EndNote???

How to use the EndNote Portal

Click on the category tabs on the left to access or identify resources OR use the Search box above to enter keywords, e.g,, backup or full text, for your topic or resource need.

Announcements

EndNote version X8 is now available

1/4/2017

  Please see the "What's New in EndNote X8?" video to discover the new features and capabilities of this latest version of EndNote.  Anyone who purchased EndNote X7 after September 1st 2016 is entitled to a free upgrade to EndNote X8.  Please visit  the EndNote X8 Desktop page for more information about purchasing EndNote.  See the section Purchasing EndNote -- UC Students, Faculty & Staff.

Thomson Reuters Division Acquired

11/1/2016

  Thomson Reuters Intellectual Property & Science division, the producer of EndNote, was acquired by Clarivate Analytics on October 3, 2016.  Clarivate Analytics has taken over ownership of a long line of research and academic products, including, EndNote, Web of Science, Derwent World Patents Index and other former Thomson Reuters information products.

EndNote X8 coming in November

9/21/2016

  EndNote version X8 (18) will be released in November of this year.   This newest version of EndNote will include significantly expanded sharing and collaboration features.  As more information becomes available from Thomson Reuters, the producer of EndNote, it will be shared with you on these pages. Thomson Reuters is presently offering a "free" upgrade to EndNote X8 to those who purchase EndNote X7 today forward.  For more information visit the EndNote website.

NEW EndNote Online Feature

4/30/2015

 

The online version of EndNote has added a new feature, Manuscript Matcher, which can facilitate the process of matching your research manuscript with journal candidates for publication.   See EndNote’s product announcement for detailed information about this new tool or set up your EndNote Online account now so you can try this exciting new feature.

EndNote updates

1/2/2015

 

The most recent version of EndNote is version X7.2.1.  For users of version X7 you must install X7.2.1 to utilize the new library sharing feature with other X7.2 EndNote users.  Visit the EndNote Updates link for more information about this significant upgrade.

NEW EndNote Tutorial

7/21/2014

 

EndNote produced a new tutorial video about the "Find Full Text" function.  Discover how easy it is to set up and use this powerful and time saving tool.

 Heartbleed Security Bug

 

6/12/2014

 

Users of EndNote Online (EO) are advised to change their EO passwords due to possible vulnerability to the “Heartbleed” security bug.  There is no evidence of any account holder’s information being compromised, but a password change is recommended.  Click on the link above to receive an email message for a password reset.

 EndNote  X7

       8/8/2013

 

The latest version of EndNote, version X7, is now  available at the UC Bookstore.  Visit the EndNote Website to learn more about EndNote, or see the EndNote promotional video to see what this product can do for you.

New & expanded Web presence

       7/15/2013

 

The University of Cincinnati EndNote Web pages have adopted a new, more intuitive, contemporary design.  Additionally, the pages offer considerably more content.  

WHAT IS ENDNOTE AND WHAT CAN IT DO FOR YOU?

EndNote is a citation and reference management software program

EndNote facilitates the collection and management of reference citations, including full text documents.

EndNote can facilitate many of the most tedious aspects of your research work by empowering you to:

  • Electronically collect, organize and manage your references in a personal database
  • Easily format bibliographies, footnotes and in-text citations into almost any output style, including over 5,000 styles.
  • Conveniently collect and link full-text articles to your EndNote references, eliminating the unwieldy storage of paper copy
  • Sync your desktop based personal EndNote database with EndNote online to access it 24/7 anywhere you have Internet access, includes unlimited free storage for references & full text attachments.
  • Sync your EndNote with multiple computers or devices, including the IPad.
  • Share your references with colleagues anywhere in the world
Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati