This is the "Home" page of the "EndNote & RefWorks -- Citation and Reference Management Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote & RefWorks -- Citation and Reference Management Tools   Tags: citation, citation and information management, personal information management, pim, reference & citation management  

Tools to help you collect, manage and cite bibliographic references
Last Updated: Jul 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.libraries.uc.edu/EndNoteANDRefWorks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What are Citation & Reference Management Tools

How can these tools facilitate your research?

These tools may be either software packages or Internet based services that provide you with the capability to electronically collect bibliographic resources, including full text, from hundreds of databases.  These tools enable you to manage, organize and edit this data and to integrate these resources into your manuscript as in text citations, footnotes and bibliographies. Reference & Citatiion Management tools include most of the following features:

  • Electronic collection of bibliographic resources from most commercial research literature databases, e.g. Art Abstracts, BIOSIS,  ERIC, MLA, PsycINFO, etc.
  • Electronic collection of bibliographic resources from most public catalogs, e.g. NLM (PubMed),  LC, OhioLINK, UCLID, etc.
  • Creation of formatted (all major styles) bibliographies, footnotes and in-text citations
  • Convenient linking to full-text resources saved on a PC or on the Internet
  • Management and organization of bibliographic resources in one or multiple databases
  • Detection and management of duplicate bibliographic resources
  • Browsing and searching of your own bibliographic databases
 

Which is the best tool for me???

The answer to this question really depends on your personal situation, environment and preferences.  Both ot the Citation & Reference Management tools supported by UC (EndNote and RefWorks)  are excellent products.   Both would likely satisfy most, if not all, of your requirements.  However, you are encouraged to review the "Comparison Tables" page to compare features of EndNote, RefWorks and other Citation & Reference Management tools.

 

UC Libraries' Support for Citation & Reference Management Tools

The University of Cincinnati Libraries (UCL) supports two Citation & Reference Management tools: EndNote and RefWorks.  The level of support for each tool is given below.

EndNote

Instruction           --  Hands-on workshops and Web links to tutorials

Tech Support      --  Phone, email and office consultations

CampusGuides   -- Web based information



RefWorks

Instruction            --  Hands-on workshops and Web links to tutorials

Tech Support       --  Phone, email and office consultations

CampusGuides    --  Web based information

Cost                     --  Free for UC students, faculty & staff

EndNote & RefWorks Liaison

Profile Image
Randall L. Roberts
Contact Info
University of Cincinnati
Langsam Library, Room 476
Cincinnati, OH 45221

513-556-1864
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip