Alumni Account FeaturesMoving Your Data Between Accounts
This is the "Home" page of the "RefWorks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RefWorks   Tags: personal information management, pim, refworks  

Information about setting up and using a RefWorks account
Last Updated: Dec 18, 2013 URL: http://guides.libraries.uc.edu/RefWorks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus & On Campus Access

Off Campus Access to RefWorks

Off campus access to RefWorks and its Write-N-Cite utility both require UC authentication. UC Libraries provides two options for authentication: the VPN service and a proxy server. Both services will require your central login information.

VPN (Preferred access service)

This link connects you to VPN.  After logging into VPN you must then log in to RefWorks.  For more information about the VPN log in process visit the VPN page.

 Proxy Server

Log in to RefWorks via the proxy server.

 

On Campus Access to RefWorks

Access for all on campus computers, VPN and SecureWireless network users.

 

Need Help?

 RefWorks Technical Support Team

support@refworks-cos.com

1-775-327-4105

 

UC Libraries RefWorks Technical Support

randall.roberts@uc.edu

Phone:  513-556-1864

 

edith.starbuck@uc.edu

Phone:  513-558-1433

 

WELCOME to the RefWorks portal

Welcome to the University of Cincinnati Libraries' RefWorks portal. The purpose of this portal is to connect UC students, faculty and staff with the information and resources they may require to effectively utilize RefWorks.  What is RefWorks???

How to use the RefWorks Portal

Click on the category tabs above to access or identify resources OR use the Search box above to enter keywords, e.g,, backup or full text, for your topic or resource need.

Announcements

New Guide for Write-N-Cite 4.0

 RefWorks recently published the "Write-N-Cite Quick Start Guide."  This is a brief 4 page but pithy guide to using Write-N-Cite 4.0.  Bookmark the Guide or save it to your desktop and refer to it often.  (10/17/2013)

 Write-N-Cite 4.0

To learn how to install and use this new, robust version of WnC visit the Connecting to Write-N-Cite 4.0  box.  (6/11/2013)

Write-N-Cite 4.0

RefWorks has fixed the problems associated with the early introduction of WnC 4.0,  most notably the synchroniztion problem.    The synchronizaton between your RefWorks database and your Word document , which once took up to 10 minutes, rarely takes more than a few seconds.  WnC 4.0 is now both robust and FAST.  (5/16/2013)

RefShare problems update

RefShare (RefWorks sharing utility) continues to experience problems with the "export" function from RefShare sites.  Presently, the only way to export references from RefShare is via the "All in List" option.   RefWorks is presently in the process of revamping the RefShare utility. (5/16/2013)

RefShare problems

 

For the past 2 or 3 weeks there has been a problem with the "export" function from RefShare sites.  It has not been possible to export either "selected" or a "page" of references.  However, it is possible to select "All in List" and to export these references. (10/9/2012)

 Write-N-Cite 4.0

 

The new version of WnC works beautifully for many RefWorks users.  Others have had frustrating problems.  If you fall into the latter category see Write-N-Cite 4.0  -- Yea or Nay?  (9/21/2012)

RefWorks Login Problems

 

RefWorks has been experiencing IP authentication problems this morning because of a hardware upgrade late Thursday night.  Consequently, both on-campus and off-campus logins have been inoperable.  The problem has been fixed, and now you should be able to login into RefWorks and its auxiliary programs Write-N-Cite and RefShare.  However, all RefWorks users will need to clear their internet browser cache of cookies and restart their browsers before attempting to log back in again.

For additional information about clearing you browser’s cache and fixing connection problems please see the RefWorks Connection Problems??? help page. Also, all off-campus uses must access RefWorks via either VPN or the UC Libraries proxy server. (9/21/2012)

RefWorks Maintenance Down Time

 

RefWorks will be unavailable, September 20 (Thursday), 2012 beginning at 9:00 pm Eastern Standard Time for very brief maintenance.  (9/19/2012)

New RefWorks Classes

 

UC Libraries offers workshops for new and intermediate RefWorks users.  Please see the UC Libraries' Calendar of Classes to discover the focus, time, date and location of the seven RefWorks workshops offered over the next three months. (9/5/2012)

Write-N-Cite 4.0

 

 

Write-N-Cite version 4 for Windows was released in June, 2012.  Though RefWorks has resolved significant installation issues,  WnC version 4 continues to have synchronization issues that result in unacceptable delays in a classroom setting.   Until this problem is resolved the RefWorks workshops offered on the west campus will continue to use version 3 of WnC. (8/23/12)

RefWorks Maintenance

 

RefWorks and Write-N-Cite will be unavailable during a short maintenance period on May 6th from 12 AM to 5 AM EST. (5/2/12)

New RefWorks classes!!

 

Four new RefWorks hands-on workshops have been added to the UC Libraries Calendar of Classes for April 2012. (3/28/12)

Write-N-Cite 4.0

 

Getting closer!! The new version of Write-N-Cite has been released to RefWorks administrators for previewing. It should be available for all RefWorks users in a few weeks. (3/17/12)

 

 

What is RefWorks and What can it do for you?

  • RefWorks is an Internet-based research records management service that facilitates the collection and management of citations to articles, books, web pages and many other types of sources.
  • RefWorks is licensed by the University of Cincinnati Libraries and is available at no cost to all students, faculty and staff. 
  • RefWorks can facilitate many of the most tedious aspects of your research work by empowering you to:
    • Electronically collect, organize and manage your references in a personal database
    • Easily format bibliographies, footnotes and in-text citations into almost any output style
    • Conveniently link references to full-text articles, eliminating unwieldy storage of paper copy
    • Access your personal database 24/7 anywhere you have Internet access
    • Collaborate with other RefWorks users on a shared project
    • Share references from your RefWorks database with anyone who has Internet access
    • Receive free automatic quarterly upgrades (no installation required)

    RefWorks Liaison

    Profile Image
    Randall L. Roberts
    Contact Info
    University of Cincinnati
    Langsam Library, Room 476
    Cincinnati, OH 45221

    513-556-1864
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip