Skip to main content

Article Linker FAQ

What is UC Article Linker?

UC Article Linker is a service that seamlessly links library resources from the Library Catalog, online databases, and other sources, including Google Scholar. When you find a citation or reference to a specific article in an online database, UC Article Linker supplies the best available path to the content (in full text), from anywhere in the library's collection.

A brief introduction to using Article Linker

How can I access UC Article Linker?

The UC Article Linker button Article Linker button or "Find Full Text at UC" link comes up on the results list or record screen in online article databases.  In Google Scholar there is just the "Find Full Text at UC" link.

For off-campus access enter your UC username and password when asked -- just like you do when using library databases from off-campus.

To make it work with Google Scholar off-campus, you can do one of the following:

  • (Preferred) Login via VPN before going to Google Scholar
  • In Google Scholar click on "Settings," select "Library Links. " Type in "university of cincinnati," select "University of Cincinnati -- Find Full-Text at UC", and save your preferences. When searching Google Scholar, just look to the right of the article title for  "Find Full-Text at UC." Enter your UC username and password when asked -- just like you do when using library databases from off-campus.

Sometimes there are several links and buttons in a database that point to full text. Which one should I click?

If the “HTML Full Text” or “PDF Full Text” link is available, click it to go directly to the text.full text icons

If the full text link is not available or if the text does not display properly or you cannot access it for any reason, click “UC Article Linker” or "Find Full Text at UC."
Article Linker buttom

What will UC Article Linker show me?

Although some databases may present it differently, you will likely see a split screen with a database on the left and the Article Linker screen on the right.

Article Linker window

A closer look at Article Linker.

Article Linker Screen

Why would I try a different source?

The same journal is often available in more than one database. UC Article Linker will display the links to a variety of sources accessible to the library. If the default database cannot provide full text, the quality is inadequate, or you prefer a different database, you may be able to select it from the drop-down menu.

Articel Linker screen: menu for additional databases

What do I do if the article is not found?

  • If the link to article is not working due to incomplete or incorrect data, you can do one of the following:
    • Click on the Journals tab or go to the e-Journals page and type in the title of the journal listed in the citation. Browse to the needed volume and issue.
    • Search by DOI or PMID using the Search for a known article form on the e-Journals page.
    • Search Google or Google Scholar - the article may be available on the public web, for example, in an institutional repository. Warning: the version you find online may NOT be the final published version.
  • Sometimes an article is not available online due to a publisher's embargo, but UC may have a subscription to a print..version. This is why we ask you to check the catalog for the print version.

Print version and request options

Please check the catalog BEFORE submitting an Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) request form!

Why doesn't Article Linker always take me to the article?

Here are some possible reasons you are not accessing full text:

  • There is incorrect or incomplete data to make a match to the article.
  • The provider of the full text may not be able to translate completely the citation that is incoming.
  • UC may not have access to 100% of content for a particular title.

Please use the "Report an access problem" link and ask a librarian for help by clicking "Ask a Librarian" at the bottom of Article Linker Screen.

What if I see a white box instead of the article?

Certain publishers (OhioLINK EJC, Taylor abd Francis, etc.) block the content from opening in frames. In this case the screen displays the following link: "Click this link to open the selected resource in a new window."

Article Linker screen with a link instead of article

Clicking this link may take you to the article.

If the link does NOT take you to the article, do the following:

  1. Click "Browse journal" in the right pane.
  2. Click "Click this link to open the selected resource in a new window."

Article linker screen with steps for accessing an article through "Browse journal."

What if I see multiple links to the article?

In some cases you may see more than one link. when information provided by the link matches information stored with multiple documents in a database. Explore the list, use filters to narrow the results, or modify and re-run the search.

Article Linker screen with multiple links

When would I use Interlibrary Loan?

Articles not available online or part of the print collection of UC Libraries can be requested through the interlibrary loan service. Click on the appropriate interlibrary loan link and log in with your UC 6+2 and central ID password. The citation information for the article you need will automatically populate the interlibrary loam form. Just click “Submit” at the bottom of the screen and we’ll take it from there.   Please check the catalog BEFORE submitting an Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) request form!

Additional questions? A problem to report?

The link for reporting access problem appears under the source citation on the Article Linker results screen. Please provide as much detail as possible.

Please ask a librarian for help by by clicking "Ask a Librarian" at the bottom of Article Linker Screen.

Can I email the article and citation to myself?

You can use the "Email" button to email the source citation and permanent link.
PLEASE NOTE: If the "Email" button is at the bottom of you screen, scroll down after you click the button to see the form:

You can choose a citation style from the drop-down menu. The following formats are supported:

  • AMA - American Medical Association
  • APA - American Psychological Association
  • Chicago/Turabian Author - Date
  • Chicago/Turabian Humanities
  • MLA - Modern Language Association
  • Vancouver/ICMJE

In addition, the email message will contain a permanent link to the article. PLEASE NOTE that you will need to be logged in for off-campus access in order to view the text.

Can I export the citation to citation management software?

Click the "Export" button to save citations in a format compatible with your bibliographic management software.

PLEASE NOTE: If the "Export" button is at the bottom of you screen, scroll down after you click the button to see the form:

Article Linker export form

Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero) - includes those fields supported by reference managers that utilize Research Information Systems (RIS) format for bibliographic management. (This would be useful if you are at a remote location and have bibliographic management software such as ProCite® or EndNote® on your home or office computer. You could save your citations at the library and import them into your citation library at home.)

Direct Export to RefWorks - exports citations directly to RefWorks web-based bibliographic management software.

Who wrote this guide

Olga Hart
Contact:
Phone: (513) 556-1850
Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati