UC Article Linker is a service that seamlessly links library resources from the Library Catalog, online databases, and other sources, including Google Scholar. When you find a citation or reference to a specific article in an online database, UC Article Linker supplies the best available path to the content (in full text), from anywhere in the library's collection.
The UC Article Linker button or "Find Full Text at UC" link comes up on the results list or record screen in online article databases. In Google Scholar there is just the "Find Full Text at UC" link.
For off-campus access enter your UC username and password when asked -- just like you do when using library databases from off-campus.
To make it work with Google Scholar off-campus, you can do one of the following:
If the “HTML Full Text” or “PDF Full Text” link is available, click it to go directly to the text.
If the full text link is not available or if the text does not display properly or you cannot access it for any reason, click “UC Article Linker” or "Find Full Text at UC."
Although some databases may present it differently, you will likely see a split screen with a database on the left and the Article Linker screen on the right.
A closer look at Article Linker.
The same journal is often available in more than one database. UC Article Linker will display the links to a variety of sources accessible to the library. If the default database cannot provide full text, the quality is inadequate, or you prefer a different database, you may be able to select it from the drop-down menu.
Please check the catalog BEFORE submitting an Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) request form!
Here are some possible reasons you are not accessing full text:
Please use the "Report an access problem" link and ask a librarian for help by clicking "Ask a Librarian" at the bottom of Article Linker Screen.
Certain publishers (OhioLINK EJC, Taylor abd Francis, etc.) block the content from opening in frames. In this case the screen displays the following link: "Click this link to open the selected resource in a new window."
Clicking this link may take you to the article.
If the link does NOT take you to the article, do the following:
In some cases you may see more than one link. when information provided by the link matches information stored with multiple documents in a database. Explore the list, use filters to narrow the results, or modify and re-run the search.
Articles not available online or part of the print collection of UC Libraries can be requested through the interlibrary loan service. Click on the appropriate interlibrary loan link and log in with your UC 6+2 and central ID password. The citation information for the article you need will automatically populate the interlibrary loam form. Just click “Submit” at the bottom of the screen and we’ll take it from there. Please check the catalog BEFORE submitting an Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) request form!
The link for reporting access problem appears under the source citation on the Article Linker results screen. Please provide as much detail as possible.
Please ask a librarian for help by by clicking "Ask a Librarian" at the bottom of Article Linker Screen.
You can use the "Email" button to email the source citation and permanent link.
PLEASE NOTE: If the "Email" button is at the bottom of you screen, scroll down after you click the button to see the form:
You can choose a citation style from the drop-down menu. The following formats are supported:
In addition, the email message will contain a permanent link to the article. PLEASE NOTE that you will need to be logged in for off-campus access in order to view the text.
Click the "Export" button to save citations in a format compatible with your bibliographic management software.
PLEASE NOTE: If the "Export" button is at the bottom of you screen, scroll down after you click the button to see the form:
Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero) - includes those fields supported by reference managers that utilize Research Information Systems (RIS) format for bibliographic management. (This would be useful if you are at a remote location and have bibliographic management software such as ProCite® or EndNote® on your home or office computer. You could save your citations at the library and import them into your citation library at home.)
Direct Export to RefWorks - exports citations directly to RefWorks web-based bibliographic management software.