Skip to main content

Integrating Library Resources into Blackboard - A Guide for Faculty

Find digital media

Our  Research Guides will help you find great digital media resources for your course.

Please note that while some resources listed in the Media Research Guide are free and open to the public, licensed resources require authentication via a proxy server or VPN client.

Please follow directions for linking to OhioLINK resources (see the box at the bottom of this page) as a general guideline for linking to licensed resources. Unless access through a VPN client is strongly recommended, (for example, for videos), attach the proxy server prefix
(http://proxy.libraries.uc.edu/login?url=) in front of the permanent URL.

Link to videos in Film on Demand

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows viewing of streaming videos from Films Media Group.

  • Identify a video in the database.
  • Under the film screen click the "Embed/Link" button.
  • Copy the link in the "Record URL" box  and paste it into Blackboard.

Film thumbnail with Embed/Link options

Link to videos in Kanopy

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty at subscribing institutions with access to tens of thousands of films. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

  • Identify a video in the Kanopy database.
  • Under the film screen click the "Share/Embed" button.
  • The "Share" option displays social media icons and the permanent URL.
  • Copy the persistent link and paste it into Blackboard.

Kanopy sharing options: link

As you can see, you can also share the links in social media. Note that any film shared on social media or otherwise will still be protected by UC Libraries' on- and off-campus authentication systems.

Add a link to an OhioLINK digital video or image

The OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons DRC) is located at http://drc.ohiolink.edu/. You can link to this page or to the pages of individual collections, for example, Educational and Instructional Videos (http://drc.ohiolink.edu/handle/2374.OX/59222).

If you want to link to a record for an individual image or video title, search or browse for it in the appropriate database. Look for the permanent link.

Copy and paste the URL into your course page.

Note: Please let students know that they should use the VPN client to access videos from off-campus locations. UC VPN information.

Linking to Clips and Playlists

A clip is a shortened excerpt, or cut, of a video. You may want to create clips to show in class or share with students.

A "playlist" is a set of different clips or films that are curated and collated together into a single URL with the intention of being viewed together. You can create mandatory or suggested viewing playlists for your students, or your student can create a playlist of their favorite videos for future reference or as part of a duration project.

Clips and playlists in Kanopy

You can create clips and playlists for any film on Kanopy, to which you can also provide annotations, titles, etc. Essentially, this tool helps students, faculty and other users to better prepare films for class or other use.

When a clip or playlist is created, it has a unique URL and can be made public or kept private. The URL can be shared with others via email or otherwise, and there is a unique embed code for it as well. All clips and playlists will be saved on the platform for you under your profile, so that it is not lost and you can always revisit it (unless you manually delete the clip/playlist). 

(Modified from "Creating Clips and Playlists" - Kanopy Help. Follow the link for step-by step instructions).

Clips in Films on Demand

This streaming video database contains pre-made segments (or clips).

All of the pre-made segments are created by educators familiar with the content. While most pre-made segments are between two and four minutes in length, there is no set length for a segment; some may be less than two minutes, and some may be more than five minutes. The structure of the content and the educational value of the segment determine it's length.

The clips can be found through a basic search, or by accessing any video detail page. If a video contains pre-made segments, they will display in a "Segments" tab on the right side of the page. 

Each individual pre-made segment can be added to a playlist or shared directly with other users through its unique Record URL.

See Record URLs - Titles and Segments for information on finding URLs.

You can create custom segments. Please go to Custom Segments for step-by-step instructions.

(Modified from "Pre-Made Video Segments" - Films on Demand Support Center.

Search the Support Center for information on playlists.

 

Sharing Kaltura Videos

Kaltura is UC's enterprise media streaming and video repository tool. Users have the ability to share media within Blackboard (for course related content) or restrict it to a UC login or with the public through MediaSpace. By default, all media that is uploaded to Kaltura is private. Library tutorials are increasingly published in UC Libraries Kalura MediaSpace. You should be able to share links to tutorials, but if there are any problems please let us know (email Olga Hart).

Helpful UCit help page:

Sharing a link in  Kaltura Sharing Options Guide

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati