Research Guides: Chemistry: Safety Data

Subscription Databases for Safety Data

ATSDR Toxicological Profiles (Toxic Substances Portal)
Translates over 40¸000 pages of data into a comprehensive¸ current¸ easy-to-use format on the mitigation of health effects¸ data gaps¸ and available health data. Peer-reviewed¸ this work covers the toxicological effects of hazardous substances¸ chemicals¸ and compounds. Each profile includes an examination¸ summary¸ and interpretation of available toxicological and epidemiological data evaluations on the hazardous substance.
CHEMINFO
Detailed profiles of more than 1¸300 important workplace chemicals¸ including health¸ fire and reactivity hazards and safe work practices. (Will connect to: CCOHS¸ which provides combined access to seven international bibliographic databases: NIOSHTIC - National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (U.S.); HSELINE - Health and Safety Executive (U.K.); MSDS - Materials safety data sheet; FTSS - Fiches techniques sur la securite des substances; RTECS - Registry of toxic effects of chemical substances; CHEMINDEX - guide to 20 CCINFO databases; CHEMINFO - Occupational safety and health information on chemicals.
Coronavirus Research Database
The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis.
INCHEM
Thousands of searchable full-text documents on chemical risks and sound management of chemicals from international bodies¸ helping countries fulfil their commitments under the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development (UNCED) Agenda 21¸ Chapter 19.
TOXLINE
TOXLINE on this service offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology¸ including chemicals and pharmaceuticals¸ pesticides¸ environmental pollutants¸ and mutagens and teratogens. This database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles¸ monographs¸ technical reports¸ theses¸ letters¸ meeting abstracts¸ papers and reports. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine¸ information in the database is drawn from a number of discrete files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service¸ BIOSIS¸ or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; furthermore¸ it is a "rolling 5-year & database¸" consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year. Coverage: 1998 - present

Safety Data

Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)

An MSDS gives information on chemical products and companies, first aid, toxicity, chemical properties, exposures and protection, instructions on handling and storage, and additional information on regulations and transportation restrictions. The MSDS for a chemical substance can be searched by chemical name or CAS Registry Number. Many sites provide MSDS information.

TOXNET - changes as of January 2020

TOXNET toxicology research content is now distributed across multiple NIH sources, including PubChem, PubMed, and other databases.

TOXNET TOXNET toxicology research content is now distributed across multiple NIH sources, including PubChem, PubMed, and other databases.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials has become the primary source for those who need to evaluate the hazardous potential of substances used in commerce. Sax's is the only reference that combines data on toxicology, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information for over 28,000 substances.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials