Over 200 articles about issues (abortion, gun control), legal concepts (due process, privacy), landmark cases (Roe v. Wade, Brown v. Board of Education), and people (John Adams, Thurgood Marshall) related to the Constitution.
Published by the US Congress (through the combined efforts of the Senate Historical Office and the Legislative Resource Center of the House of Representatives), this guide provides over 13,000 biographies. Includes biographies of individuals who served in any of the US national legislatures, to include the Continental Congress. Though not browse able, visitors may search the database by name, position, or state.
The directory is intended to be used primarily as a reference aid and includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States. Regimes with which the United States has no diplomatic exchanges are indicated by the initials NDE.
Presents short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district. Also includes officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.
“The Diplomatic List, of missions in the U.S., is prepared by the Office of Protocol. It contains the names of members of the diplomatic staffs of all missions and their spouses. Members of the diplomatic staff are the members of the staff of the mission having diplomatic rank. These persons, with the exception of those identified by asterisks, enjoy full immunity under provisions of the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations.”
Provides information on the agencies of the executive, judicial, and legislative branches of the Federal government. Also includes details about: boards; commissions; committees; and quasi-official agencies and organizations in which the United States participates.