This dynamic data analysis tool allows you to generate tables and graphs of arrests for the 30-year period from 1980 through 2009. You can view national arrest estimates, customized either by age and sex or by age group and race, for many different offenses. This tool also enables you to view local arrests.
Provides a vast amount of crime data via a combination of online data (via reports) and downloadable data sets on crimes ( including expanded focus on homicides) and the criminal justice system (persons detained, prosecuted & convicted as well as criminal justice resources). Also includes historic data from 1970 to 2002.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data-Planet repository contains more than 6.2 billion data sets from more than 70 source organizations. The over two billion time series in Data-Planet provides immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and described with up to 37 fields of metadata, including a controlled vocabulary. Data-Planet includes statistics related to crime and capital punishment.
Data can be viewed, compared and analyzed. Data sets are accessible via an easy to use expandable contents menu (including a category for "Criminal Justice and the Law" ) and via a simple search box. Data sets available covering the following period: 1909 to the present.
data.world is a heterogeneous collection of "free" data sets, including a significant number of data sets for crime and social phenomena. Data.world offers social networking features. NOTE: Searching multiple concepts (e.g., income AND inequality) of this database is greatly improved by using the "AND" operator to refine your searches.
Provides summary findings, statistical publications, csv files and data sets (variety of formats,e.g. SPSS, SAS, tab delimited) for following topics: local police; sheriff's offices; federal, tribal & campus law enforcement; forensics; police-public contact; arrest related deaths and community policing.
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) preserves and distributes computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies, and investigator initiated research projects to users for secondary statistical analysis.
Founded in 1978 as part of the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the NACJD is supported by the Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) and the National Institute of Justice (NIJ) in the U.S. Department of Justice.
Record date: 12/7/2017
NCVS is the nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 90,000 households, comprising nearly 160,000 persons, on the frequency, characteristics, and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States (From the Bureau of Justice Statistics website).
NCJJ houses records of cases handled by courts with juvenile jurisdiction. Data sets must be ordered from the NCJJ. Procedures for ordering can be found by clicking on "Available Data Sets" and then on "Ordering Data."
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
The University of Cincinnati is a member of ICPSR. All students and faculty have access to the data from over 7,500 studies. Additionally, ICPSR users have access to data analysis tools and consultation assistance from ICPSR staff.
Record date: 8/11/2016
The IPR provides access and technical support for the Social, Behavioral and Health Science Data Archive. This data archive includes the following resources: ICPSR, the National Opinion Research Center, the International Survey Library Association (Roper Center), the United States Bureau of Economic Analysis, the National Center for Health Statistics, the U.S. Census Bureau and the Ohio Department of Development Office of Strategic Research.