Skip to main content

Media

MLA

MLA:

Cite the artist’s name, title (underlined or italicized), date of creation, medium, the institution or individual who owns the work, and the city where the work resides.  If you viewed the work online, end your citation with your date of access and the URL.

Bibliographic entry - Standard

Duveneck, Frank.  Whistling Boy.  1872.  Oil on canvas.  Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati.

Pei.  I.M.  Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.  Cleveland.

Footnote/Endnote - Standard

2Mark Rothko, Number 13, 1958, oil and acrylic with powdered pigments on canvas, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.

Bibliographic entry - from a website

Duveneck, Frank.  Whistling Boy.  1872.  Oil on canvas.  Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati.  Accessed 7 Feb. 2008.  <http://www.cincinnatiartmuseum.stores.yahoo.net/frduwhboy.html>

Footnote/Endnote - from a website

4Frank Duveneck, Whistling Boy, 1872, oil on canvas, Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati, accessed 7 Feb. 2008.  <http://www.cincinnatiartmuseum.stores.yahoo.net/frduwhboy.html>

Bibliographic entry - database

Botticelli, Sandro.  Birth of Venusc. 1482.  Tempera on canvas.  Galleria degli Uffizi, Florence.  ARTstor.  Accessed 3 Jan. 2008.  <http://www.artstor.org>.

Footnote/endnote – database

4Sandro Botticelli, Birth of Venus, c. 1482, tempera on canvas, accessed 3 Jan. 2008.  <http://www.artstor.org>

Bibliographic entry – from a book

Duveneck, Frank.  Whistling Boy.  1872.  Oil on canvas.  Cincinnati Art Museum.  Unsuspected Genius: the Art and Life of Frank Duveneck.  By Robert Neuhaus.  San Francisco: Bedford Press, 1987.  227.

Footnote/endnote – from a book

5Frank Duveneck, Whistling Boy, 1872, oil on canvas, Cincinnati Art Museum, Unsuspected Genius: the Art and Life of Frank Duveneck, by Robert Neuhaus (San Francisco: Bedford Press, 1987) 227.

Bibliographic entry – personal photograph

Louvre Museum, Paris.  7 March 2005.  Personal photograph by author.  JPEG file.

Footnote/endnote – personal photograph

8Louvre Museum, Paris.  7 March 2005.  Personal photograph by author.  JPEG file.

Bibliographic entry – Slide in a library

Gogh, Vincent van.   The Starry Night.  1889.  Oil on canvas.  Museum of Modern Art, New York.  Visual Resources Center.  Design, Architecture, Art and Planning Library, University of Cincinnati.

Footnote/endnote – Slide in a library

9Vincent van Gogh, The Starry Night, 1889, oil on canvas, Museum of Modern Art, New York, Visual Resources Center, Design Architecture, Art and Planning Library, University of Cincinnati.

Bibliographic entry – map or chart

Ohio.  Map.  Chicago: Rand, 2004.

Footnote/endnote – map or chart

3Ohio, map (Chicago: Rand, 2004).

 

 

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati