Research Guides: Government Documents Research Guides: Census Info

Microform Holdings

Print (1790-1990 holdings are at SWORD)

Search the online catalog for the census publication that is needed.

Census Information

University Libraries owns the decennial census from 1790 forward in various formats and at various locations. The libraries also own selected “population schedules”, which list the information collected by the census about individuals, including their names, occupations, etc. These can be found by doing a keyword search (use the terms: population schedules) in the online catalog.

Online Information

APPLINKS (Missouri Census Data Center)
A flash based systems that allows you to drill down by a specific geographic area. A non-flash version is as the Master Menu main page.
CensusScope (University of Michigan)
An easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, with graphics and exportable trend data. Covers 2000 Census.
Historical Census Browser (Univ. of Virginia)
Includes data for population and economy of U.S. states and counties for 1790-1960.

Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online allows users to access data on social¸ behavioral¸ humanistic¸ and natural sciences including history¸ economics¸ government¸ finance¸ sociology¸ demography¸ education¸ law¸ natural resources¸ climate¸ religion¸ international migration¸ and trade - quantitative facts of American History. It is the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. The Millennial edition is a revised¸ updated¸ and expanded version of the previous three editions of HSUS.
Coverage: Colonial Times to 2000

National Historical Geographic Information System (Minnesota Population Center)
“A project to create and freely disseminate a database incorporating all available aggregate census information for the United States between 1790 and 2000."
Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts (Census Bureau)
Provides links to PDF files of many volumes of Census Bureau historical publications.

Social Explorer
Social Explorer contains historical Census data from 1790 to 2000. Database tools allow you to explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps and also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing. You may explore the data through interactive thematic maps of Census 1790 through Census 2000; then create a report from the view of your interest to see numbers and percent breakdowns. You may also go directly to the reports section and choose the data you wish to view and download. Social Explorer also allows you to create and export map slide shows which is very convenient for viewing data over time. Coverage: 1790-present

Government Documents Research Guides

Microform Holdings

Census Information

Online Information

Finding Aids

State Population Profile