Skip to main content

RefWorks (Legacy)

Information about setting up and using a RefWorks account

Contents --- Getting Information into RefWorks

Multiple video tutorials illustrate a variety of techniques for adding references to your RefWorks database

Print instructions for hundreds of databases, e.g., Lexis/Nexis, PsycINFO (Ebscohost), Scopus, Web of Science

Video tutorial about adding full text articles for corresponding references in your RefWorks database

How to Get References into Your RefWorks Database

There are six ways to add references to your personal RefWorks database.  Click on the link for any of the following methods to view a short online tutorial.  Additional textual instruction about each method is available from the "More Help" link below.

NOTE: Before you build your RefWorks database, you may want to spend some time thinking about how you want to organize your references.  See the page on Organizing References for assistance on organizing you personal RefWorks database.

Export Instructions for Specific Databases

It is possible to directly export references from hundreds of different databases. See the Vendor/Database Instructions  list for specific export instructions.  Note: most databases are listed by the vendor (provider of the database).  For example, the database "Education Research Complete" is provided by EbscoHost. Therefore you should look for EbscoHost.

To discover the vendor name, open the database, e.g. Web of Science, and look for the name of a vendor.  The graphic below provides three fairly typical examples of how the vendor name is displayed.  Once you know the vendor you can link to the Vendor/Database Instructions to find export instructions by vendor and then by database.

 Database screen shots

Finding and Adding Full Text

You can use [Article Linker],  UC Libraries' open URL link resolver tool, and the RefWorks "Attachment" tool to add full text articles to references in your RefWorks database.   Additionally, the "Attachment" tool enables you to link any number of documents to your RefWorks references, e.g., graphics files, Word documents or Excel spreasheets.  Together these two tools will significantly expand and augment your simple references database into a database including searchable and manageable full text records.

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati