Skip to main content

Citation Management Software

This guide provides information on RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, and Mendeley.

About RefWorks

RefWorks Logo

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography manager that makes it easy to import references to articles, books, web pages and other types of sources from online databases.

Login to RefWorks.

RefWorks is licensed by the University of Cincinnati and is available at no cost to all UC students, faculty and staff.

RefWorks can help you:

  • Electronically collect, organize and manage your references in a personal database
  • Easily format bibliographies, footnotes and in-text citations into almost any output style
  • Conveniently link references to full-text articles, eliminating unwieldy storage of paper copy
  • Access your personal database 24/7 anywhere you have web access
  • Share your personal database (or any part of it) with anyone in the world who has Internet access
  • Receive quarterly automatic quarterly upgrades (no installation required)

If you have any questions please contact Edith Starbuck at 558-1433, edith.starbuck@uc.edu.

Create a RefWorks Account

Tutorial on how to create a RefWorks Legacy account. [UC does not have an Athens or Shibboleth account login. If you are off-campus, log into the VPN (Virtual Private Network), then open a browser and create your RefWorks account.]

Write-N-Cite or Reference Citation Manager

Word 2016 for Windows: you may either download Write-N-Cite or use the RefWorks Citation Manager add-in.

Mac and iPad: use the RefWorks Citation Manager add-in. 

Using RefWorks Citation Manager

RefWorks Citation Manager for Word 2016: Inserting Citations and Creating Bibliographies

The RefWorks Write-N-Cite add-in is not currently supported by the Microsoft Word iPad app; however, if you have installed the Mac desktop version of Office365, you can use the RefWorks Citation Manager add-in.

If your iPad is your only device, you may also use the One Line Cite option, until RefWorks makes the Write-N-Cite add-in compatible with the Word iPad app. 

Using RefWorks Off Campus

Log into the SSL VPN (Virtual Private Network). Need to set up the VPN?  Instructions on how to install the Pulse Secure software are on the Off Campus Access page.

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati