Research Guides: Chemical Engineering: Home

Science & Engineering Librarian

Ted Baldwin

he, him, his

Email Me

Contact:

CEAS Library, ML 0018
850G Baldwin Hall

513-556-4211

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry & Physics, Engineering & Technology, Mathematics

CEAS Library Resources in Chemical Engineering

Need help? Ask a CEAS Librarian

Books

BOOKS dealing with Chemical Engineering in the UC libraries can be located through the UC Library Catalog. You can search the UC Library Catalog by author, title, keyword or subject. General Subject headings that may be used include:

BIOCHEMICAL ENGINEERING; BIOMEDICAL MATERIALS; BIOTECHNOLOGY; CHEMICAL ENGINEERING; CHEMICAL PLANTS; CHEMICAL PROCESS CONTROL; CHEMICAL PROCESSES; CHEMICAL REACTIONS; CHEMISTRY, TECHNICAL; COLLOIDS; ELECTROCHEMISTRY; POLYMERIZATION; and SEPARATION (TECHNOLOGY)

CHEMINFO Detailed profiles of more than 1¸300 important workplace chemicals¸ including health¸ fire and reactivity hazards and safe work practices. (Will connect to: CCOHS¸ which provides combined access to seven international bibliographic databases: NIOSHTIC - National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (U.S.); HSELINE - Health and Safety Executive (U.K.); MSDS - Materials safety data sheet; FTSS - Fiches techniques sur la securite des substances; RTECS - Registry of toxic effects of chemical substances; CHEMINDEX - guide to 20 CCINFO databases; CHEMINFO - Occupational safety and health information on chemicals.
CHEMnetBASE Contains a wealth of chemical information from Chapman & Hall/CRC. Chapman & Hall/CRC are publishers of major chemical reference works. Coverage: 1986 - Present

Knovel Provides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.

Knovel Optical and Filter Glass Database
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Material Safety Data Sheets
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) CCOHS MSDSs give information on chemical products and companies, first aid, toxicity, chemical properties, exposures and protection, as well as instructions on handling and storage, and additional information such as regulations and transportation.
Matheson Gas Data Book
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology (AccessScience)
Measurement, Instrumentation, and Sensors Handbook: Electromagnetic, Optical, Radiation, Chemical, and Biomedical Measurement
Measurement, Instrumentation, and Sensors Handbook: Spatial, Mechanical, Thermal, and Radiation Measurement
Merck Index
NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods (NMAM) (Free) A collection of methods for sampling and analysis of contaminants in workplace air, and in the blood and urine of workers who are occupationally exposed.
NIST-JANAF Thermochemical Tables
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Official methods of analysis of AOAC International
OSHA (Free)
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
Petroleum Engineering Handbook: Sustainable Operations
Petroleum Fuels Manufacturing Handbook
Polymer Data Handbook
Polymer Handbook
Polymers A Property Database
Polymer Science : A Comprehensive Reference
Polymer science dictionary
Polypropylene : The Definitive User's Guide and Databook
Poucher's Perfumes, Cosmetics and Soaps
Rheology Modifiers Handbook : Practical Use and Application
Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers : A Manual of Quick, Accurate Solutions to Everyday Process Engineering Problems
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
SciGlass
Sigma Browsable Online Catalog (Biochemicals, Organic compounds, Diagnostic Products and Techware)
Solvent Recovery Handbook
Springer Protocols Handbooks
Supelco Browsable Online Catalog (Chromatography Products Search)
Thermochemical and Thermodynamic Properties of Organometallic Compounds
ThermoDex : An Index of Selected Thermodynamic Data Handbooks
Thermophysical Properties of Fluid Systems

TOXNET TOXNET toxicology and environmental health research content is now distributed across multiple NIH sources, including PubChem, PubMed, and other databases.

Databases

BIOSIS Previews (OhioLINK access) BIOSIS Previews (Biological Abstracts)¸ a leading source of life science information¸ collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. Biological Abstracts contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings¸ pharmacological studies¸ and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5¸500 international journals are reviewed for inclusion¸ representing virtually every life science discipline Coverage: 1969 - present
Compendex Compendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines. Coverage: 1884 - present

Database of Zeolite Structures

Google Scholar Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
MathSciNet Mathematical Reviews Math reviews.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO) is a comprehensive source of full text for medical journals¸ providing full text for more than 1¸370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those¸ more than 1¸340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature. Coverage: Full Text:1965-present/ Citations:1800s-present

Polymers: a property database

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. Coverage: 1861 - present
Reaxys Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds¸ bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Combined data from three sources: The Beilstein Database¸ The Gmelin Database¸ and The Patent Chemistry Database
Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances (RTECS) Providing students with critical toxicological information with citations from more than 2¸500 international journals¸ textbooks¸ technical reports¸ scientific proceedings and compendia. Provides combined access to seven international bibliographic databases: NIOSHTIC - National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (U.S.); HSELINE - Health and Safety Executive (U.K.); MSDS - Materials safety data sheet; FTSS - Fiches techniques sur la sécurité des substances; RTECS - Registry of toxic effects of chemical substances; CHEMINDEX - guide to 20 CCINFO databases; CHEMINFO - Occupational safety and health information on chemicals
SciFinder-N : Account Registration (First Time Users) First-time users sign up here. Register for your account using your UC.edu email address. SciFinder-N is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. The database searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference papers, technical reports, chemical property data.
Scopus (Elsevier) Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
SPIE Digital Library The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually. All sources are searchable and there are also several browse options for proceedings (by year, symposium, volume number, volume title, technology). Publications included in the SPIE Digital Library include, the Proceedings of SPIE, Optical Engineering, Journal of Electronic Imaging, Journal of Biomedical Optics, and Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication, and Microsystems.
Web of Science Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present

Journals

Patents

Patents Guide

USPTO Patent Full-Text Database Two free patent databases are provided by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). The first USPTO Web Patent Database provides the capability to search and display the text of the granted US patents from 1976 to the present. Full images of these patents are available. In addition¸ granted patents from 1790 to 1975 are searchable by patent number or current US patent classification number. These patents may also be displayed. The second database allows the searching and displaying of patent applications issued after 14 March 2001. In both databases¸ the full image is available for viewing by using the special G-4 TIFF plug in.

Freepatentsonline

Espacenet : Europe's Network of Patent Databases Publicly Available. International patent search.

Standards

Standards

ASTM Compass
NOTE: If accessing from off-campus, use the Chrome browser for best results.
ASTM Compass provides full-text access to the full set of ASTM’s Standards (both current and historical versions), Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Conference Proceedings, Technical Manuals, and research journals such as the Journal of Testing and Evaluation.
Coverage 1931-present.

IP Standard Methods for Analysis and Testing of Petroleum Related Products

Professional Societies

Return to CEAS Library
Return to CEAS Library Subject Guides