Research Guides: Civil Engineering: Home

CEAS Library Resources in Civil Engineering

Books

BOOKS dealing with Civil Engineering can be located through the UC Library Catalog. You can search in the UC Library Catalog by author, title, keyword or subject. General subject headings that can be used include:

AIRPORTS; BRIDGES; BUILDINGS; CIVIL ENGINEERING; COASTAL ENGINEERING; CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION; DAMS; EARTHQUAKE ENGINEERING; ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING; FOUNDATIONS; HIGHWAY ENGINEERING; HYDRAULIC ENGINEERING; HYDRAULICS; HYDROLOGY; MILITARY ENGINEERING; RAILROAD ENGINEERING; ROADS--DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION; ROCK MECHANICS; SHELLS (ENGINEERING); SOIL MECHANICS; STRENGTH OF MATERIALS; STRUCTURAL ANALYSIS; STRUCTURAL DYNAMICS; STRUCTURES; and SURVEYING

For additional terms, use the Library of Congress Subject Headings.

Taylor & Francis Ebooks Full-text of thousands of e-books and technical handbooks in engineering, technology, science, bioscience, medicine and business published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Apple Academic Press. The CRCNetBase e-book collections are included in this database.

Databases

DATABASES are online equivalents of indexes and abstracts. Some databases relevant to Civil Engineering are:

AAPG Datapages / Archives AAPG Datapages Combined Publications Database (from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists) started in 1996 and known as the Archives provides users with easy access to thousands of documents in 41 collections from 37 geological publishers. Coverage: varies; from 1917 - present

ASCE Library

Compendex Compendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines. Coverage: 1884 - present

Construction Criteria Base (CCB) Subscription collection of over 10,000 construction guide specifications, manuals, reference standards, and regulations used in building design and construction.

Earthquake Engineering Online Archive Contact Mark Chalmers at mark.chalmers@uc.edu to request resources from this archive. - The Earthquake Engineering Online Archives image database can be searched by any combination of earthquake¸ subject keyword¸ structure name¸ or photographer. Coverage: 1887 – present
GeoRef (Engineering Village) GeoRef¸ produced by the American Geosciences Institute¸ is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 3 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Among the subjects covered in GeoRef are: environmental and engineering geology¸ hydrology¸ economic geology¸ geophysics¸ petrology¸ paleontology¸ marine geology and oceanography¸ and mineralogy. Over 3¸500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books¸ maps¸ government reports¸ conference papers¸ and theses and dissertations. The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present¸ and coverage dates back to 1933 for the rest of the world. Over 100¸000 references are added to GeoRef annually.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. Coverage: 1861 - present
Quakeline Publicly Available This is a bibliographic database produced by the MCEER Information Service. It covers earthquakes¸ earthquake engineering¸ natural hazard mitigation¸ and related topics. It includes records for various publication types¸ such as journal articles¸ conference papers¸ technical reports¸ maps¸ and videotapes. QUAKELINEï¿½ was launched in May 1987. The database currently provides access to 33¸ 000 records. The MCEER Information Service possesses all documents cited in the database.

TRID TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

Web of Science Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present

Journals

JOURNALS are a good source of information on recent developments. Selected titles currently received by the CEAS Library are listed below. To determine if UC Libraries has a journal title, use Full-text Journals or search the library catalog.

Reports

ASCE Manuals and Reports on Engineering Practice
Caltech Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory Technical Reports
Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center (PEER)
Some PEER publications are also available in print in CEAS library (TA654.6.E4)
Mid-America Earthquake Center Technical Reports
Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER)
Some MCEER publications are also available in print in CEAS library (TA654.6.T25)
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Publications

Civil Engineering

CEAS Library Resources in Civil Engineering

Books

Databases

Journals

Reports

Standards

Images

Professional Societies