Research Guides: Federal Legislative History Guide: Reports

About Committee Reports

Committee reports often provide a section-by-section analysis of a bill and include recommended amendments. They are extremely important in determining the legislative intent of Congress. These documents are known as ‘House Reports' or ‘Senate Reports.'

Sample Citation

H.R. Rep. No. 353, 82d Cong., 1st Sess. (1951).
S. Rep. No. 84-2, at 7 (1955)
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 98-1037

Locating Committee Reports

Govinfo.gov
Govinfo.gov is a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. Govinfo is a user-friendly, modernized site that provides an easy to use navigation system accessible on smartphones, tablets, laptops and personal computers. GPO receives information from Federal agencies and organizations in all three branches of the Government. Its content feeds The Library of Congress’ www.congress.gov and the Federal Register site.
ProQuest Congressional Publications
ProQuest Congressional provides access to committee reports through the "Advanced Search". Select House and Senate Reports and/or Serial Set.Coverage: 1789 -
HeinOnline
The U.S. Federal Legislative History Library includes the full text of committee reports for significant legislation.Coverage: varies
Westlaw
Westlaw is a legal database restricted to law faculty, staff and students.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance is a legal database restricted to law faculty, staff and students.