Compiled by the Library of Congress¸ American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words¸ sound recordings¸ still and moving images¸ prints¸ maps¸ and sheet music that document the American experience. The database contains over 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.
Associated Press archive of photographs¸ from 1844 to the present¸ audio files of radio broadcasts¸ texts of wire stories¸ and info-graphics. The Photo Archive features state¸ regional and national photos from North America¸ as well as international photos all available moments after they move on the AP's spot picture system. An average of 800 photos a day feed into the Photo Archive¸ and remain there for a minimum of one year.
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive¸ stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Coverage: 1750's - present
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center Digital Images is a collection of digital documents related to slavery¸ abolition¸ and emancipation. The collection includes abolitionist broadsheets¸ photographs by Matthew Brady¸ letters and speeches of President Lincoln and other presidents¸ and other historic letters¸ documents¸ and pictures. The original documents are found in the Gilder Lehrman Collection of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. The digital images were made available through the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center.
Oral History Online is a landmark index to English language oral histories. Working with archives¸ repositories and individuals Alexander Street Press has indexed oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Their intent is to make it possible to find and explore the voices of more than 300¸000 individuals.