Research Guides: Counseling Resources: Journals

Helpful Tutorials

Checkout the video tutorials below to help you use journals in your research. You may be prompted to log-in with your UC credentials.

Cabells Journalytics (formerly Scholarly Analytics)
Journalytics provides article submission information for over 11,000 research journals, including analytics such as impact factors and altmetrics scores. Predatory Reports notes journals identified as engaging in deceptive, fraudulent, and/or predatory practices. (This database was formerly known as Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities.)
UC has access only to Journalytics
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports offers a systematic¸ objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals¸ with quantifiable¸ statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles - cited references¸ Journal Citation Reports helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels¸ and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300¸000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals¸ e-journals¸ peer-reviewed titles¸ popular magazines¸ newspapers¸ newsletters¸ and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN¸ publisher¸ language¸ subject¸ abstracting & indexing coverage¸ full-text database coverage¸ tables of contents¸ and reviews written by librarians.