Skip to main content

MEDIA LAW: Issues & Problems SPCL 7014 Fall 2013 Prof. John (Jack) Greiner

Cases

      Hard-copy 1973 - 2007 Law Library Stacks KF2750.A513 
      Online Bloomberg BNA
  
  • Contains
    • Cases from all state and federal courts and 
    • News Notes (the latest news on non-judicial developments, including pending legislation, state activities, and important meetings). 
  • Finding it & Logging on 
    • Click on the Bloomberg BNA link above. Pull down the menu labelled "Login to Your Bloomberg BNA Product Subscription." Scroll down to the Media Law Reporter. Select it and click the "Go" button.
  •  Searching 
    • Quick Search - Type a word or phrase in the Quick Search text box and click Go to search the entire site or just the collection in view. 
    • Advanced Search - The Advanced Search form provides tools for content selection and for structuring complex, targeted searches. 
    • Category Search - This variation of Advanced Search opens with content already selected. Click a category search link on the Reporter home page such as Search News Notes to go to an Advanced Search of all News Notes. 
    • Guided Search - Each Guided Search form is based on search content and provides easy content refinement and structured search fields for your convenience. 
    • Find a case by citation - Click Find a Case on the Reporter banner to access the “Find a case by citation” form, a fast way to locate a case when you know the citation. 
    • Headnote Finder - Click Headnote Finder under Find Cases to search headnotes by classification number, and optionally by any combination of court, words, or date limitation.

Cases

WestlawNext

  • Contents
    • Reported and unreported federal and state cases
  • Finding Them
    • On the Browse Box on the first page, the the Browse Box click on Cases to go to the next page, which lists all American courts by jurisdiction.enter your search in the box at the top of the page, which allows you to choose jurisdiction or search all cases
    • click on Advanced Search to the right of the orange Search button.  The Advanced Search provides a search template.
  •  Searching
    • Topic & Key Number
      • Topic 274 Newspapers
      • Topic 237 Libel & Slander
      • Topic 311H Privileged Communication & Confidentiality
      • Topic 372 Telecommunications for the Electronic Communications Privacy Act
      • Topic 92 Constitutional Law
        • First Amendment k1150 - k1209
        • Freedom of Information k50 -k61
        • Privacy k1210 - k1279
        • Freedom of Speech, Expression, and Press k1490 -k2309
    • Headnote & Synopsis fields

Cases

  • Contents
    • Reported and unreported federal and state cases
  •  Finding Them
    • On the first page, enter your search in the horizontal, red box at the top of the page. In the white tabs hanging below the red box you can select:
      • content (cases, law reviews, admin. rules, etc.)
      • jurisdiction and
      • topic (there is no topic for media law, but others that are related to it.)
    • click on Advanced Search to the right of the orange Search button.  The Advanced Search provides a search template.
  • Searching
    • Click on Browse Topics on the right and above the red banner.
    • Select Communications Law, Constitutional Law, Civil Rights, Antitrust and Trade Law or any other relevent topc.
    • A menu will appear;
      • Click on any triangle to see more detail.
    • Another menu will appear
      •   Select Get Topic Documents or Add This Topic to the Search
    • Put your search in the white box in the red banner above and click on the Search button
    • If you want to search only one source, click on Browse Sources on the right and above the red banner.
    • Click on the source you want and add it to the search.
    • Put your search in the white box in the red banner above and click on the Search button

Codes & Statutes

The Law Library subscribes to print codes from all fifty states plus the Federal codes, but be aware that codes from non-Ohio states may be the annotated (and unofficial) codes. 

State

  • The Ohio codes are found in print in the Ohio 1 Collection. 
  • See our guide on Ohio Legal Research for more information on sources and how to research Ohio statutes.
  • The non-Ohio state codes can be found on the 4th floor in the States Collection. 

Federal

  • The United States Code (official), United States Code Annotated (USCA), and the United States Code Service (USCS) are available in print in the Federal Materials Room.
  • Hein Online’s United States Code library (must use on-campus or authenticate from off-campus) and GPO's FDsys, provide online versions of the United States Code (the official code).

Annotated

Annotated codes make better research tools because of the annotations, more frequent updating, and superior indexing.  The Library also must take things like budget constraints into account when deciding on which annotated code to purchase if more than one is available.  Although Bluebook rule 12.2.1 states the preferred citation is to an official code, it does allow citation to an unofficial code. 

Annotated codes are also available on Lexis Advance , Westlaw Classic and WestlawNext.

  • Take advantage of features available online such as
    • Tables of Contents
    • Popular Name Tables and
    • indexes

Unannotated

Unannotated codes are also available on Bloomberg Law, CaseMakerX, and FastCase.

Session Laws

Bills enacted into law are known as session laws.  Eventually these session laws are arranged by subject and codified.  If you need to locate a session law, use the following sources:

Federal session laws 

Ohio

See our guide on Ohio Legal Research for more information on sources and how to research Ohio session laws.

  • The Law Library has access to Ohio session laws in print, Laws of Ohio, in the Ohio 2 Collection at KFO 25 .A22
  • They are also accessible through the Ohio General Assembly website, http://www.legislature.state.oh.us (very limited historical coverage)
  • Hein Online Session Laws Library (must use on-campus or authenticate from off-campus);
  • Lexis (very limited historical coverage);
  • Westlaw (very limited historical coverage).

 Other States

To access session laws from other states or territories, go to:

  • Hein Online Session Laws Library (must use on-campus or authenticate from off-campus);
  • State Session Laws on microfiche on the 4th floor;
  • Lexis (very limited historical coverage);
  • Westlaw (very limited historical coverage);
  • or the state legislature’s website (a good source for links to these is the Law Librarians’ Society of Washington DC, State Legislatures, State Laws, and State Regulations, http://www.llsdc.org/state-leg/ (last visited Aug. 13, 2013).
Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati