ERISA: Research Guide to the Employee Retirement Income Security Act

The employee benefits area is complex and rapidly changing, and both new and experienced people can find the language of benefits confusing and complicated. This glossary is designed to provide a practical, easy-to-use guide to terminology presently used in the employee benefits field. From actuarial cost to zero-coupon bonds, from adverse selection to zero premium, this reference book guides you through the wide range of sometimes-complex employee benefit terms. Drawn from U.S. and Canadian sources, some 2,500 terms from the accounting, compensation, regulatory and legal, health care, human resources, international, investment and labor areas are defined as they apply to the benefits field. An indispensable list of almost 800 abbreviations and acronyms puts you in the know. International Foundation. 2005. 166 pages. I

This authoritative coverage provides the background needed to acquire a thorough understanding of employee benefits law. Text covers plan finance and taxation; economic aspects; regulations; ERISA (Employee Retirement Income Security Act) legislative background; vesting; participation, accrual, and non-interference; distribution; employee securities; employee stock ownership plans; preemption; nondiscrimination; and plan termination.

In nearly 275 entries, this 3-vol. set examines landmark pieces of legislation, explaining the historical factors that led to the proposal of each act, looking at the adoption process and assessing each act's impact on American life. A great addition to collections in needof resources on government, civics, citizenship, history and the law.

American Jurisprudence provides an unparalleled breadth of coverage of all fields of American law - state and federal, civil and criminal, substantive and procedural. The articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases and related annotations.

This set is alphabetically arranged in more than 400 topics or chapters. It provides prompt answers to client questions, helps propose sound courses of action, and provides a quick look at unfamiliar areas of the law. A new Topic Service Binder reviews new areas of law until they can be placed accurately within the set.

West's Encyclopedia of American Law fully illuminates today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, important documents and more. Legal issues are fully discussed in easy-to-understand language, including such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and thousands more.