Skip to main content

Media Studies

A multidisciplinary approach to study of media literacy

media market

AD*ACCESS
Advertising images for over 7000 U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazine advertisements from 1911-1955.

Ad Age Data Center
Ad Age Data Center offers profiles of top advertisers, agency and media family tree reports, advertising spending data, industry contacts, ad industry job market data and ranked lists of top media markets and media formats.

AdForum

AdForum containts over 110,000 ads from over 100 countries produced in the last 10 years with an emphasis on notable and award winning creative work.  AdForum has ads from all media types (TV, print, billboard, radio, case studies interactive) and all ads are viewable in a high resolution video player that includes zoom-in functionality and full screen viewing on print ads.  A large number of our ads also include full production credits. An advanced search tool allows users to find the ads they need quite easily.

AdSpender      (User Guide)
AdSpender provides a summary of the multi-media advertising marketplace. It spans five years of national summary spending trends, accessible by industry, parent company, and brand. Data is available via customizable reports with easy data exporting abilities to popular spreadsheet and flowchart programs. The Media covered are: Television (network, cable, spot, Spanish-language network, syndicated); Radio (Network, national spot, local); Magazines (consumer, b-to-b, local, Sunday, Spanish-language); Newspapers (national, local, Spanish-language); Internet; and Outdoor.

Advertising Expenditures (By Industry)

Data on advertising expenditures by industry can be found in the Economic Census Detailed Industry Reports. The data is published once every 5 years. The following is an example of the 2007 detailed report

Advertising Expenditures (By Company or Brand)

Data can be found in the "AdSpender" listed above.

Advertising Expenditures in the U.S. (Grand Total and by Type of Media)

Data from 1900- present is available in "U.S. Advertising Expenditure Data"

Advertising Terms
Extensive listing of advertising terms from University of Texas.

Editor & Publisher Market Guide. (Langsam Library Latest Reference (Print)  -- link to Library Catalog)
Gives data on the market of 1,600 daily newspapers in the United States and Canada. In addition data is given on population, ages and ethnicity, housing, income, education, retail sales, etc..

Plunkett Research's Advertising and Branding Industry Research Center
Includes a market profile of advertising, trend analysis, glossaries, statistics, and approx. 400 company profiles in advertising and branding and industry associations and organizations.

Redbooks (Advertising Agencies & Advertisers)
Provides information on over 20,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Each listing includes advertising expenditures by media, current agency, fiscal year-end and annual sales, contact information on key personnel, brand name info, S.I.C. & NAICS classifications, and other key data. This resource also includes detailed profiles of nearly 15,000 U.S. and international advertising agencies, including accounts represented by each agency, fields of specialization, breakdown of gross billings by media, contact information on agency personnel and more.

SRDS Publications
Information on circulation, advertising rates, newspapers, magazines, computer and community publications, radio and television, and other media. The library subscribes to the following:
Business Publication Advertising Source, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source and TV and Cable Source.

media resources

 The following digital resources include a variety of indexes, directories, journal indexes.

Associations Unlimited

Associations and professional societies, nonprofit membership organizations of U.S. national, regional, state, and local, or international scope.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Combines CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).

Communication Abstracts

Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale, Communication Abstracts covers major communication-related articles, reports, chapters, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources.

Dissertations & Theses

"Dissertations and Theses" includes full-text to over 800,000 dissertations from 1997 forward. The database includes also full-text to all UC dissertations published in electronic format. In addition, the database includes citations to dissertations from 1861-Present and Abstracts from 1980 forward. 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Electronic Journal Center

To locate articles found in fulltext communication journals.

 

PsychINFO

Covers communication literature as well as psychology; 1887 to currently published articles

Scopus

SCOPUS indexes and abstracts a broad range of interdisciplinary publications--journal, conference, book chapters--for the social sciences; also tracts citations.

Social Science Citation Index

Not full-text but citation indexing that allows searching by topic and author, features related and works-cited searching and retrieval.

Summon

Search Summon for articles, books, & more

 

Information about Summon

This search box includes articles

Modern Language Association International Bibliography

The MLAIB  can be used to locate research applying to film/media from a wide angle of form and function scholarly approaches: adaptation, philosophy and aesthetics, film as symbol, narrative techniques, semiotic approach, etc..

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati