Skip to main content

Media Studies

A multidisciplinary approach to study of media literacy

visual literacy

Chinese Pavilion, 2010

 Welcome to the Film and Media Studies Subject Guide.  The guide is organized by types of information, such as research articles, web pages, journal title search.

Feedback is appreciated.

Please contact Rosemary Franklin, communication librarian

Electronic Resources

 The following digital resources include a variety of indexes, directories, journal indexes.

Associations Unlimited

Associations and professional societies, nonprofit membership organizations of U.S. national, regional, state, and local, or international scope.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Combines CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).

Communication Abstracts

Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale, Communication Abstracts covers major communication-related articles, reports, chapters, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources.

Dissertations & Theses

"Dissertations and Theses" includes full-text to over 800,000 dissertations from 1997 forward. The database includes also full-text to all UC dissertations published in electronic format. In addition, the database includes citations to dissertations from 1861-Present and Abstracts from 1980 forward. 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Electronic Journal Center

To locate articles found in fulltext communication journals.



Covers communication literature as well as psychology; 1887 to currently published articles


SCOPUS indexes and abstracts a broad range of interdisciplinary publications--journal, conference, book chapters--for the social sciences; also tracts citations.

Social Science Citation Index

Not full-text but citation indexing that allows searching by topic and author, features related and works-cited searching and retrieval.


Search Summon for articles, books, & more


Information about Summon

This search box includes articles

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati