A Basic Guide to International Environmental Legal Research

Access to annual reports and other CIEL publications by subtopics of biodiversity, chemicals, climate change, human rights and the environment, international financial institutions, law and communities, and trade and sustainable development.

CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment. Data and publications are searchable through gateways, such as SEDAC, IAI-DIS, and other quick links to CIESIN projects.

This website developed by the United Nations Environmental Programme and the World Conservation Union provides a wonderful portal to searching for bibliographic information of treaties by sub-topic of international environmental law, as well as national legislation, court decisions, and literature.

This collection contains a unique treaty locator by sub-topic of environmental law or title of the treaty. It is extremely helpful for locating full-text treaties, signatories and parties to the treaties, dates of the agreements and entry into force.

Comprehensive webpage for environmental initiatives and laws in Europe.

Provides news and background information on the European Union, the protection of the environment and sustainable development in Europe and elsewhere. It will feature a database with annotated environmental judgements of the Court of Justice of the European Union, the International Court of Justice, WTO Panels and the Appellate Body and some national judges.

FAOLEX is a comprehensive and up-to-date legislative and policy database, one of the world's largest electronic collection of national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management. Users of FAOLEX have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each text, as well as to the full text of the legislation and policies contained in the database.

Comprehensive research guide for available online and print resources.

The Globelaw site is divided into international and environmental law and transnational litigation sections. Contains helpful links to topics, such as oceans, climate, biodiversity and biosafety, nuclear, toxics, and other topical materials. The site also links to multilateral conventions and national legal resources for international environmental law with an emphasis on UN documentation.

A website for locating working papers and print publications in international environmental law in Europe and links to full-text articles.

IUCN is composed of both government and civil society organizations. Their website covers the eleven regions and numerous environmental topics on the status of the natural world and the measures needed to safeguard it.

Links to environmental conventions and especially helpful for researching national law material by region of the world.

The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) works on setting a global environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the United Nations system, and serves as an advocate for the global environment. The website provides links to publications and primary resources by sub-topic of international environmental law.

Overview of resources for Environment and Natural Resources Law, including World Bank publications.