Skip to main content

How to Write an Annotated Bibliography

This guide is designed to help you learn more about writing annotated bibliographies and how they can be useful for conducting research.

Create a RefWorks Account

Bibliographic management programs are an efficient and effective method for organizing the sources for your annotated bibliography. They can format your citations and generate a basic bibliography in seconds. RefWorks is a web-based service that is available for free to UC students and faculty. 

Visit the UC Libraries RefWorks guide for more information about setting up and using a RefWorks account along with additional resources for advanced users

Send Items from Summon to RefWorks

Summon is the main portal for searching the UC Library Catalog and the best place to start looking for sources for your annotated bibliography.  For more information on searching in Summon, please consult the Library Databases Tutorial.

When you find sources in Summon that you want to use, you can save them to a folder and export that folder to RefWorks.

Exporting Summon Records to Refworks:

Create a Bibliography in Refworks

Refworks can automatically generate a bibliography and format all the citations in your chosen format with a few clicks of a button.  

WARNING: It is your responsiblity to double-check the citations generated by RefWorks and make sure they are correct.


If you are using the Legacy RefWorks interface:



If you are using the New RefWorks interface:

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati