Skip to main content

Citing Your Sources

Titled Images: APA and MLA

APA

Library database Citation for an image in a library database apa
Free Web

Citation for an imge from the free Web APA

The plate/image number (or, if this number is not available, the page number on which the image is printed) should follow the name of the publisher as shown.

Image reproduced in a printed source Citation for an image in a print source APA

MLA 8

Library database Citation for an image form a library database MLA 8
Free Web

Citation for an image found on the free Web MLA 8

The collection which owns the image should be included in your citation along with its location as shown above.

Image reproduced in a printed source

 

Ctation for an image in a print source MLA 8

The examples are reproduced from http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/apa_examples.cfm#images and http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/mla_examples.cfm#images

Untitled images: APA and MLA

APA

Create a brief title for it and place it in brackets, unitalicized.

Library database APA citation for an untitled image from a library database
Image reproduced in a print source APA citation for an untitled image from a print source

MLA 8

If an image is untitled, create a brief, descriptive title for it. Do not italicize this title or place it in quotes, and capitalize only the first word and any proper nouns.

Library database Citation for an untitled image found in a database MLA 8
Image reproduced in a print source

Citation for an untitled image form a print source MLA 8

Give the number of the page that the image appears on after the book's publication information.

The examples are reproduced from http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/apa_examples.cfm#images and http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/mla_examples.cfm#images

Chicago

Chicago Manual of Style

In the humanities, citations are provided in footnotes or endnotes along with the bibliography.  Images can be cited using captions or in a bibliography.  Check with your instructor for the correct manner.

Bibliographic entry – general

Gogh, Vincent van.  The Starry Night.  1889. Oil on canvas.  29 in. x 36 ¼ in.  Museum of Modern Art, New York.

Footnote/endnote – general

18Vincent van Gogh, The Starry Night, 1889, oil on canvas, 29 in. x 36 ¼ in., Museum of Modern Art, New York.

Caption – general

*note: captions can be done as figure, fig., illustration, or ill.

Fig. 1: Vincent Van Gogh, The Starry Night, 1889, oil on canvas, 29 in. x 36 ¼ in., Museum of Modern Art, New York.

Bibliographic entry – online (websites or databases)
Duveneck, Frank.  Whistling Boy, 1872.  Oil on canvas, 28 in. x 21 ½ in.  Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati.  <http://cincinnatiartmuseum.stores.yahoo.net/frduwhboy.html>, accessed 12 Aug. 2007.>

Footnote/endnote – online (websites or databases)

4Henri Matisse, The Woman with the Hat, 1905, oil on canvas, 81.3 cm x 60.3 cm, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, San Francisco.

Caption – online (websites or databases)

Ill. 1: Frank Duveneck, Whistling Boy, 1872, oil on canvas, 28 in. x 21 ½ in.  Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati, <http://cincinnatiartmuseum.stores.yahoo.net/frduwhboy.html>

Bibliographic entry – slide in the library

Gris, Juan.  Newspaper and Fruit Dish, 1916. Oil on canvas. 18 1/8 in. x 14 7/8 in.  Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York.  University of Cincinnati, OH: Visual Resources Center, 2005, slides.> 

Footnote/endnote – slide in the library

Juan Gris, Newspaper and Fruit Dish, 1916, oil on canvas, 18 1/8 in. x 14 7/8 in., Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York. University of Cincinnati, OH: Visual Resources Center, 2005, slides.

Caption – slide in the library

Illustration 1: Juan Gris, Newspaper and Fruit Dish, 1916, oil on canvas, 18 1/8 in. x 14 7/8 in.  Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York.  University of Cincinnati, OH: Visual Resources Center, 2005, slides.

Credit lines

Images with copyright restrictions

Reproduced with permission from Jan Newstrom Thompson, Duveneck: Last Paintings Found  (Santa Clara, CA: Triton Museum of Art, 1987), 55, © 1987 by Triton Museum of Art.

Images without copyright restrictions

Man and boy fishing in Ohio River, September 14, 1929.  Courtesy of Rosemary Bart

Photograph courtesy of Cincinnati Art Museum.

Turabian

Turabian

Cite the artist’s name, title in italics, the medium and support, the date, and the institution or individual who owns the work, the city, and, if needed for clarification, the state.  If the location is unknown, substitute location with (whereabouts unknown).  As a general rule, cite images in footnotes/endnotes only.

Work of art – general

5Frank Duveneck, Whistling Boy, oil on canvas, 1872, Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati.

Work of art – image database

7Frank Duveneck, 1872, Whistling Boy, Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati, accessed September 14, 2005, http://library.artstor.org/library/secure/ViewImages?id=8jNTaD4kJDgpRy4%2Fej16RQ%3D%3D&userId=gjBKfQ%3D%3D&zoomparams=.

Bibliographic entry

*note: it is not common practice to cite images in a bibliography, but if a professor requests a citation in bibliographic format, use the following format.

General

Duveneck, Frank.  Whistling Boy.  Oil on Canvas.  1872.  Cincinnati Art Museum.

From a database

Duveneck, Frank.  1872. Whistling Boy. Accessed September 14, 2007. http://library.artstor.org/library/secure/ViewImages?id=8jNTaD4kJDgpRy4%2Fej16RQ%3D%3D

Website

Duveneck, Frank.  Whistling Boy.  1872.  Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati.  Accessed Feb. 7, 2008.  http://cincinnatiartmuseum.yahoo.net/frduwhboy.html.

Credit lines

*providing the source of the images you cite is helpful to readers and respectful to original owners of the images.  Permission must be granted to reproduce works of art under copyright restrictions.

Image with a copyright restriction

Reprinted, by permission, from John Rewald, Post-Impressionism: From van Gogh to Gauguin, p. 443.  © 1978 by the Museum of Modern Art, New York.

Personal photograph

Photograph by author

Photography commissioned by the writer

Photograph by Mary Smith

Photograph without restrictions

Photograph courtesy of Delta Airlines

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati