Research Guides: Civil Engineering Research Guide: home

This is the homepage for all research resources related to Civil Engineering. Here, you can find Books, Databases, Journals, and more. For all our engineering research guides, see Engineering and Technology.

Need Help?

CEAS Library's Ask A Librarian service can assist you with basic to advanced questions related to resources in engineering and the sciences, including those of the CEAS (Engineering and Applied Science) Library.

Databases

AAPG Datapages / Archives
American Association of Petroleum Geologists. Data archives for advancing geology and oil and gas resource use.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
ProQuest data collection for agriculture and environmental science
ASCE Library
Search books, journals, magazines, and more for finding civil engineering information from ASCE, The American Society of Civil Engineers.
BuildingGreen
BuildingGreen helps architects, designers and other sustainability professionals make their projects greener and healthier, by supporting building professionals with membership websites at BuildingGreen.com and at LEEDuser.com, and with customized consulting and training services.
Compendex
Summary of engineering research output for schools and research institutions. Analysis includes top author, funding sponsorship, and publishing trends.
TRID
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Information Center's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Water Resources Abstracts
Proquest Environmental Science Index
Whole Building Design Guide
Subscription collection of over 10,000 construction guides, specifications, manuals, reference standards, and regulations used in building design and construction.

Journals

American Concrete Institute (ACI) Materials Journal
ProQuest database of Civil Engineering Journals. Volumes 84-113 are also available in print CEAS Journals (TA680 .A654)
Better Roads
Equipment World's topic for better roads and transportation infrastructure.
Civil Engineering Journals
UC Libraries collection of Civil Engineering Journals.
Construction and Building Materials
Construction and Building Materials provides an international forum for the dissemination of innovative and original research and development in the field of construction and building materials and their application in new works and repair practice. 1987 - Present.
Geotextiles and Geomembranes
Geotextiles are permeable fabrics which, when used in association with soil, have the ability to separate, filter, reinforce, protect or drain. Geomembranes are impermeable membranes used widely as cut-offs and liners. Geotextiles and Geomembranes provides a forum for the dissemination of information amongst research workers, designers, users and manufacturers.
Hydrologic Engineering
The Journal of Hydrologic Engineering disseminates information on the development of new hydrologic methods, theories, and applications to current engineering problems. The journal publishes papers on analytical, numerical, and experimental methods for the investigation and modeling of hydrological processes.
Journal of Bridge Engineering
The Journal of Bridge Engineering publishes papers about all aspects of the art and science of bridge engineering. The journal publishes research that advances the practice and profession of bridge engineering and papers about issues, projects, materials, design, fabrication, construction, inspection, evaluation, safety, performance, management, retrofitting, rehabilitation, repair, and demolition.
Structural Engineering
One of the oldest and most respected periodicals in the field, the Journal of Structural Engineering has a history of reporting on fundamental knowledge that advances the state-of-the-art and state-of-the-practice in structural engineering.
Transportation Engineering
The Journal of Transportation Engineering, Part A: Systems contains technical and professional engineering articles on the planning, design, construction, operation, and maintenance of air, highway, rail, and urban transportation systems and infrastructure.
Water Resources Planning and Management
The Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management reports on all phases of planning and management of water resources. The papers examine social, economic, environmental, and administrative concerns relating to the use and conservation of water.
Waterway, Port, Coastal, and Ocean Engineering
The Journal of Waterway, Port, Coastal, and Ocean Engineering disseminates to the profession engineering and scientific advances made in the COPRI disciplines. The journal is a strong forum for civil engineering disciplines related to ocean, coastal and riverine waters as well as the interaction of these waters and the adjacent built and natural environments.
The Open Civil Engineering Journal
The Open Civil Engineering Journal is an Open Access online journal which publishes research, reviews/mini-reviews, letter articles and guest edited single topic issues in all areas of civil engineering. Also found at https://opencivilengineeringjournal.com/

Reports

ASCE Manuals and Reports on Engineering Practice
Caltech Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory Technical Reports
Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center (PEER)
Some PEER publications are also available in print in CEAS library (TA654.6.E4)
Mid-America Earthquake Center Technical Reports
Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER)
Some MCEER publications are also available in print in CEAS library (TA654.6.T25)
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Publications

Standards and Specifications

CEAS Library also has a list of all Engineering Standards and Codes

AASHTO Guide for Design of Pavement Structures
This book provides approaches to pavement design including design and management principals, procedures for new construction or reconstruction, and procedures for rehabilitation of existing pavements. Material on overlay design methodology and rehabilitation, including seven overlay procedures and associated options is included.
Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities (ICC/ANSI A117.1-2003)
Also available in print in CEAS Reference section (NA2545.P5 A5 2003)
ASTM Compass
ASTM Compass provides full-text access to the full set of ASTM’s Standards (both current and historical versions), Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Conference Proceedings, Technical Manuals, and research journals such as the Journal of Testing and Evaluation. Coverage 1931-present (UC login required).
International Fire Code 2015
Also available in print in CEAS Reference section (K3674.I58 2015)
ISA Standards, Recommended Practices, and Technical Reports
Contains standards on control and measurement. Symbols, environmental conditions, instrument air quality, control valves, electrical system safety, process system safety, measurement devices and transducers, digital fieldbus, computer-related topics, plant floor communications, and nuclear and fossil power plant facilities
Specification for Structural Steel Buildings
This Specification is the result of the consensus deliberations of a committee of structuralengineers with wide experience and high professional standing, representing a wide geo-graphical distribution throughout the United States.

Books

Books about Electrical Engineering can be located through the UC Library Catalog. You can search in the UC Library Catalog by author, title, keyword or subject.

Looking for Course Textbooks?

They can be accessed through UC Libraries Textbook and Reserves List, both online and in print.

Airports

Airport Design and Operation by Antonín Kazda (Volume Editor); Robert E. Caves
Publication Date: 2015-08-05
Airport design and operation are always closely related. The aim of this third edition is to present an updated and integrated approach to the two. The chapters have been enhanced to reflect changes in technology and the way the air transport industry functions. Key topics that are newly addressed in this book include low cost airline operations, security issues and EASA regulations on airports. A new chapter covering extended details about wildlife control has been added to the volume.

More books about Airports >>>

Bridges

Bridge Engineering by Jim J. Zhao; Demetrios E. Tonias
Call Number: QA76.9.B45B54 2016
Publication Date: 2012-03-26
Bridge Engineering, Third Edition covers highway bridge planning, design, construction, maintenance, and rehabilitation. This thoroughly revised reference contains cutting-edge analytical, design, and construction practices, the most current information on new materials and methods, and proven, cost-effective maintenance and repair techniques. Real-world case studies and hundreds of helpful photos and illustrations are also included in this practical resource.

More books about Bridges >>>

Buildings

Building Construction Handbook by Roy Chudley; Roger Greeno
Publication Date: 2010-03-22
Building Construction Handbook contains everything you need to know about the construction process. Up-to-date examples of everyday practices and processes, accompanied by detailed drawings to illustrate the construction building elements, make this text a core reference for both students and professionals.
Building Structures Illustrated by Francis D. K. Ching; Barry S. Onouye; Douglas Zuberbuhler
Publication Date: 2013-11-19
Building Structures Illustrated takes a new approach to structural design, showing how structural systems of a building such as an integrated assembly of elements with pattern, proportions, and scale are related to the fundamental aspects of architectural design. The book features a one-stop guide to structural design in practice, a thorough treatment of structural design as part of the entire building process, and an overview of the historical development of architectural materials and structure.

More books about Buildings >>>

Coastal Engineering

Coastal Engineering by Dominic Reeve; Andrew Chadwick; Christopher Fleming
Call Number: QA76.76.C65S8 2011
Publication Date: 2016-02-17
This second edition brings the models and examples of practice up to date. It has expanded coverage of tsunamis and generating energy from waves to focus both on the great dangers and the great opportunities that the ocean presents to the coastal zone. With an emphasis on practice and detailed modelling, this is a thorough introduction to all aspects of coastal processes, morphology, and design of coastal defences. It describes numerous case studies to illustrate the successful application of mathematical modelling to real-world practice. A must-have book for engineering students looking to specialize in coastal engineering and management.

More books about Coastal Engineering >>>

Concrete and Materials

Concrete Construction Handbook by Joseph A. Dobrowolski
Publication Date: 1998-07-01
This edition brings together more information on aspects of concrete technology and construction. It covers: high strength concrete; new additives such as silca fume; technical advances and techniques available; and codes and standards updates, including the 1995 concrete building code.

More books about Concrete and Materials >>>

Earthquake Engineering

Basic Earthquake Engineering by Halûk Sucuolu; Sinan Akkar
Call Number: TK5105.59.S713 2017
Publication Date: 2014-05-09
This book provides senior undergraduate students, master students and structural engineers who do not have a background in the field with core knowledge of structural earthquake engineering that will be invaluable in their professional lives. The basics of seismotectonics, including the causes, magnitude, and intensity of earthquakes, are first explained. Then the book introduces basic elements of seismic hazard analysis and presents the concept of a seismic hazard map for use in seismic design. Subsequent chapters cover key aspects of the response analysis of simple systems and building structures to earthquake ground motions, design spectrum, the adoption of seismic analysis procedures in seismic design codes, seismic design principles and seismic design of reinforced concrete structures. Helpful worked examples on seismic analysis of linear, nonlinear and base isolated buildings, earthquake-resistant design of frame and frame-shear wall systems are included, most of which can be solved using a hand calculator.

More books about Earthquake Engineering >>>

Highways and Roadways

Transport Planning and Traffic Engineering by Coleman A. O'Flaherty (Editor); M. G. H. Bell (Editor)
Call Number: QA76.9.A25 S49 2015, CEAS Stacks
Publication Date: 1996-11-29
Transport Planning and Traffic Engineeringis a comprehensive textbook on principles and practice. It includes sections on transport policy and planning, traffic surveys and accident investigation, road design for capacity and safety, and traffic management. Clearly written and illustrated, the book is ideal reading for students of transport, transport planning, traffic engineering and road design.

More books about Highways and Roadways >>>

Hydraulics

Basics of Hydraulic Systems by Qin Zhang
Call Number: QA76.9.D35M47 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-22
Providing the fundamental knowledge on how a typical hydraulic system generates, delivers, and deploys fluid power, Basics of Hydraulic Systems highlights the key configuration features of the components that are needed to support their functionality in a system, such as operating principles, structural features, functionalities, and applications of core composing elements.

More books about Hydraulics >>>

Railroads and National Transportation

The Railway Track and Its Long Term Behaviour by Konstantinos Tzanakakis
Publication Date: 2013-01-26
A proper quality of a track and other infrastructure objects represents a basic requirement for train safety and punctuality. Most of the physical systems and their components deteriorate over time. This affects performance and may lead to failures.

More books about Railroads >>>

Rock Mechanics

Engineering Rock Mechanics by J. A. Hudson; J. P. Harrison
Call Number: QA76.5915
Publication Date: 1997-10-17
Engineering rock mechanics is the discipline used to design structures built in rock. These structures encompass building foundations, dams, slopes, shafts, tunnels, caverns, hydroelectric schemes, mines, radioactive waste repositories and geothermal energy projects: in short, any structure built on or in a rock mass. Engineering Rock Mechanics clearly and systematically explains the key principles behind rock engineering.

More books about Rock Mechanics >>>

Soil Mechanics

Soil Mechanics by NOVA Staff; Roberto Nova
Call Number: TK5102.83.M37 2016
Publication Date: 2010-07-19
Knowledge of the behavior of soil mechanics is essential for forecasting the internal displacements and actions of any construction. This book, although theoretical at first glance, also offers a more practical scope, giving readers adequate tools to plan geotechnical projects correctly.

More books about Soil Mechanics >>>

Special Materials

Nanotechnology in Civil Infrastructure by Kasthurirangan Gopalakrishnan; Nii O. Attoh-Okine (Editor); Bjorn Birgisson (Editor); Peter Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: QA76.76.O63
Publication Date: 2011-03-31
Nanotechnology in Civil Infrastructure is a state-of-the art reference source describing the latest developments in nano-engineering and nano-modification of construction materials to improve the bulk properties, development of sustainable, intelligent, and smart concrete materials through the integration of nanotechnology based self-sensing and self-powered materials and cyber infrastructure technologies, review of nanotechnology applications in pavement engineering, development of novel, cost-effective, high-performance and long-lasting concrete products and processes through nanotechnology-based innovative processing of cement and cement paste, and advanced nanoscience modeling, visualization, and measurement systems for characterizing and testing civil infrastructure materials at the nano-scale.

More books about Special Materials >>>

Structures and Dynamics

Dynamics of Civil Engineering Structures by W. B. Kratzig (Editor); H. J. Niemann (Editor)
Publication Date: 1996-06-01
A modern view on structural dynamics originating from the work of nearly all members of the Research Center on Structural Dynamics as well as some guests.

More books about Structures and Dynamics >>>

Surveying

Surveying by Barry F. Kavanagh
Publication Date: 2008-07-21
This book provides students and practitioners with both surveying theory and real-world practice in mapping and engineering surveys.

More books about Surveying >>>

Urban Engineering

Civil Engineering and Urban Planning IV by Zhi-Qing Bao (Editor); Dong Fu (Editor); Yuan-Ming Liu (Editor); Bin Tang (Editor); Zhen-Xin Tong (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-05-09
Civil Engineering and Urban Planning IV includes the papers presented at the 4th International Conference on Civil Engineering and Urban Planning (CEUP 2015, Beijing, China, 25-27 July 2015). The contributions from experts and world-renowned scientists cover a wide variety of topics: - Civil engineering; - Architecture and urban planning; - Transportation engineering; - Geomatics; - Natural hazards and risk, and - Rock mechanics and rock engineering. Civil Engineering and Urban Planning IV will appeal to professionals and academics involved in the above mentioned areas.

More books about Urban Engineering >>>

Waterways and Water Resources

Wastewater Engineering by George Tchobanoglous; Franklin L. Burton; H. David Stensel; Metcalf and Eddy, Inc. Staff
Publication Date: 2002-03-26
This text contains a strong focus on advanced wastewater treatment technologies, including biological treatment processes, and stresses the reuse aspect of wastewater and biosolids.

More books about Waterways and Water Resources >>>

Images

ICE Image Library
Images from the Institution of Civil Engineers
USGS PDF Quads
Printable maps from National Geographic Maps

Patents

UC Patents Guide
A comprehensive guide from UC Libraries about patent research, law, and resources.
USPTO Patent Full-Text Database
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. This database provides a quick search tool for patents from 1976 onward.
Free Patents Online
Patent search tool, IP synopsis, and topic-based patent articles.
Espacenet: Europe's Network of Patent Databases
Free access to over 110 million patent documents

Civil Engineering Research Guide