Skip to main content

Classics Library Resources

Welcome to the Classics Library

Fall/Spring Semester
Classics Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8am-10pm
Friday 8am-5pm
Saturday 10am-5pm
Sunday 1pm-10pm
 
Summer Semester
Classics Library Hours:
Monday-Thursday 8am-8pm
Friday 8am-5pm
Saturday-Sunday 1pm-5pm
 
Refer to the Classics Library web site for specific hours including closures for holidays and breaks.

Burnam Classical Library Collection & Services

Classics Library Collection and Services

The John Miller Burnam Classical Library is named after a former Classics professor whose excellent private library was willed to the University.  The library has an international reputation for excellence based on its extensive research collection which focuses comprehensively on all aspects of the ancient Greek and Roman world. Research materials, whether print, electronic or other formats, cover history, archaeology, language and literature, art, numismatics, science and technology, papyrology, epigraphy and patristics.   Furthermore, the Classics Library provides extensive coverage in materials on Byzantine and Modern Greece and strong coverage on ancient Egypt, the ancient Near East, and paleography.

In addition to the extensive print collection, the library provides access to many electronic databases specific to the field of classics, including the major bibliographic indexes (L’Annee Philologique and Dyabola), subject specific databases, important image databases, and many e-journals and e-books.  We also have videos, DVD’s, and microforms.  Library holdings total nearly 270,000 items.

For several decades, the collection’s growth has relied on the generous support of the Semple Fund, established by Louise Taft Semple, the wife of a former Head of the Classics Department, in honor of her father, Charles Phelps Taft.  The collaborative support of the Classics Department and the University of Cincinnati Libraries is responsible for the excellent collection and services available to U.C. students and faculty using the Classics Library.

Besides providing reference, class reserves, and circulation services, the Classics Library has copying, printing, and scanning facilities.  We also have two Group Study Rooms that may be used for up to 2 hours at a time.

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati