This is the "Psychology 101" page of the "Clermont Library Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Clermont Library Psychology   Tags: jar, journal article review, psychology  

Resources for Clermont College Students
Last Updated: Feb 14, 2012 URL: http://guides.libraries.uc.edu/clermont-psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Psychology 101 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Choose a Topic!

Decide on a topic of interest to you before you attempt to search for articles:

  • Find suitable topics from your textbook (table of contents, chapter headings, index, etc.).  Look at the "Psychology Topics" from the American Psychological Association's web page
  • Use a topic in your own major and combine it with a psychology topic. 
  • Don't use a topic that is too general, for example, searching for "brain." Use a more specific topic, "Alzheimers Disease," or try combining terms with another word or phrase:  "brain AND dreams."
 

Tips to Searching for Articles

It is important to choose the words in a search that will give you the most relevant results. 

Sometimes there will be no or few results -- if this happens, verify the spelling, remove a word from the search, or change the search words completely.

If you still need to narrow your topic, add another relevant word to your search.  If you are still having problems with searching, see EBSCO's description of Boolean logic below.

  • AND - Combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education and technology finds articles that contain both terms.
  • OR - Combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education or technology finds results that contain either term.
  • NOT - Excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education not technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology. 

Recommended Databases

Psychology databases recommended for the Psychology JAR assignment:

 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

View EBSCO Tutorial

PsycINFO (OSearch) 

View OSearch Tutorial

 

      

    You found your article!

    How do you retrieve it?  Is the full text available online for the article?

    Full text articles are available in both of the recommended databases.  If the HTML full text or PDF full text link is available, click it to go directly to the text.

    The resulting pages will point you to the full text article in a different database and/or an interlibrary loan request form.

    Choose to print, save, or email the article.

    If you have problems, use the Ask-a-Librarian link.

    • Ask a Librarian  
      Rating
      Contact information for the Librarians, KIN chat and texting service
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip