Textbooks and treatises offer comprehensive coverage on a specific area of the law. Textbooks can often highlight controversial areas of the law and lead you to relevant cases and statutes. Many treatises are also available dealing with narrow subjects within the broader topics of law.
Battered Women and Feminist Lawmaking and the Struggle for Equality by
The book is organized into four sections, covering the history of the battered women's movement, the theoretical dilemmas of feminist analyses of battering, feminist legal practices and strategies in domestic violence cases, and the possibilities for change through feminist lawmaking, including discussions of the Violence Against Women Act, and of legal education.
Equal Protection of the Law? by
This book provides an account of the evolution of women's constitutional status, as well as stories of their participation in the criminal justice system as workers, victims, and offenders. It focuses on how the experiences of prior generations can illuminate the continued challenges of gender and inequality.
Feminist Jurisprudence by
This book provides coverage of abortion, sexual harassment, censorship and pornography, and other subjects. It also includes insights into essential topics in jurisprudence, such as the nature and justification of law, judicial reasoning and the process of adjudication, the connection between law and equality, and freedom and justice.
Feminist Legal Theory by
A collection of papers that reveal the influences of feminist work in philosophy, psychoanalysis, political theory, and literary criticism, among other fields.
Feminist Perspectives on Law and Theory by
This book uses the failure of women to fit within male models of both law and theory as a way to rethink legal questions, including the meaning of equality, freedom, justice and citizenship. This includes concern about the way in which queer theory and critical race theory - as well as issues of class - intersect with feminist theory today.
Gender and Law by
Buy a new version of this textbook and receive access to the Connected eBook on Casebook Connect, including lifetime access to the online ebook with highlight, annotation, and search capabilities. Access also includes an outline tool and other helpful resources. Connected eBooks provide what you need most to be successful in your law school classes. Gender and Law: Theory, Doctrine, Commentary, Ninth Edition is organized around theoretical frameworks, showing different conceptualizations of equality and justice and their impact on concrete legal problems. The text provides complete, up-to-date coverage of conventional "women and the law" issues, including employment law and affirmative action, reproductive rights, LGBTQ issues, domestic violence, rape, pornography, international women's rights, and global trafficking. Showing the complex ways in which gender permeates the law, the text also explores the gender aspects of subject matters less commonly associated with gender, such as property, ethics, contracts, sports, and civil procedure. Throughout, the materials allow an emphasis on alternative approaches and how these approaches make a difference. Excerpted legal cases, statutes, and law review articles form an ongoing dialogue within the book to stimulate thought and discussion, and almost 250 provocative "putting theory into practice" problems challenge students to think deeply about current gender law issues. Highlights of the 9th Edition: This edition is both faithful to its original design--teaching through theoretical frameworks rather than by subject area--and cutting edge. The authors have spared no detail in covering the latest developments in this fast-changing field of study while tying them together into a cohesive whole. Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization, a restructuring of the materials on reproductive rights, and greater attention to the reproductive justice movement and the intersectional issues raised by every issue involving reproductive health. Updated and more sustained attention to gender identity and nonbinary identities, including Bostock v. Clayton County, new material on transgender athlete bans, and a new section on sex-segregation and sex-differentiation within coed spaces (including Peltier v. Charter Day School, Inc. on sex-specific dress codes). Materials raising questions and critique about the intersection of race and gender, including historical materials that highlight the relationship between women's suffrage advocates and abolitionists and excerpts from newer scholars. Coverage of the impact of the Covid-19 crisis and its exacerbation of gender issues at work and in the home. Updated equal pay materials, revised to highlight new developments in Equal Pay Act litigation, including Rizo v. Yovino on the use of prior salary as a "factor other than sex." Revised materials on the criminal law of rape that include material from the proposed amendment to the Model Penal Code as well as coverage of the racial stereotypes sometimes reflected in the wrongful accusation and conviction of Black men. Professors and students will benefit from: Dozens of new Putting Theory into Practice problems An updated teacher's manual with audio and video clips from films, documentaries, news programs, and television and radio series on the book's main substantive topics. For new teachers, the teacher's manual is an essential resource; for more experienced teachers, the book is structured in a way that gives them lots of options for how and what to cover in the course depending on the number of credit hours and the professor's own sense of what should be taught
The Gender Line by
Despite tremendous advances in civil rights, we live in a world where the sexes remain sharply segregated from birth to death: in names, clothing, social groupings, and possessions; in occupations, civic association, and domestic roles. Gender separatism, so pervasive as to be almost invisible, permeates the fabric of our daily social routines. Preferring a notion of gender that is fluid and contextual, and denying that separatism is inevitable, Nancy Levit dismantles the myths of gender essentialism. Drawing on a wealth of interdisciplinary data regarding the biological and cultural origins of sex differences, Levit provides a fresh perspective on gendered behaviors and argues the need for careful cultivation of new relations between the sexes.
In Contempt: Nineteenth-Century Women, Law, and Literature by
In Contempt: Nineteenth-Century Women, Law, and Literature explores the legal advocacy performed by nineteenth-century women writers in publications of nonfiction and fiction, as well as in real-life courtrooms and in the legal forum provided by the novel form.
Introduction to Feminist Jurisprudence by
This book provides a student text covering the major issues in feminist jurisprudence and analyzes the manner in which both traditional jurisprudence and law have remained a masculine subject.
Introduction to Feminist Legal Theory by
This book provides an historical overview of feminist legal theory, placing legal issues in social context, with a review of the evolving paradigms of contemporary feminism from the 1970s through the present. It also covers a full range of legal issues affecting women, from rape and domestic violence to workplace discrimination and taxation issues.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Family Law by
One volume treatise discussing legal aspects of marriage, divorce, adoption, custody, parentage, surrogacy, visitation, assisted reproduction, and other family law topics from the perspective of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people.
Sexual Harassment in the Workplace by
Covers the sources needed to thoroughly research sexual harassment in the workplace. Lists major primary andsecondary authorities, combining leading cases and articleswith a research strategy designed to serve as a startingpoint for exploring the topic in depth.
Sexual Orientation and the Law by
Sexual Orientation and the Law is an extensive guide to representing any client involved in a nontraditional relationship, providing advice on how to handle the unique legal problems affecting your client. It contains extensive coverage of the full range of legal issues facing lesbian and gay clients, offering both discussion of the relevant laws and legal theories as well as sample agreements, practice pointers, and forms. Topics covered include: family law and raising children; Co-habitation and same-sex marriage; federal taxes; death, incapacity, and illness; employment; state initiatives; military and veterans; immigration; representing transsexual clients; consumer goods, services, and accommodations; First Amendment; juveniles; criminal defense; criminal justice; representing clients with AIDS; HIV testing; employment and AIDS; and insurance and AIDS.
Supreme Court Cases on Gender and Sexual Equality, 1787-2001 by
This book includes every Supreme Court case relevant to gender and sexual equality from the Court's beginnings to the end of the 2000/2001 term. It is a primary document reference book, organized topically in eight chapters: civic and social rights and duties; educational policies and instructions; employment and careers; sexual privacy and procreative rights; morality and sexual ethics; family; gender and sexual orientation; and other issues. Every case is included either as a full (edited) version of the majority or per curiam opinion, extensive excerpts of the opinion, or a detailed description of the case.
Women, Poverty, Equality by
The stark reality is that throughout the world, women disproportionately live in poverty. This indicates that gender can both cause and perpetuate poverty, but this is a complex and cross-cutting relationship.The full enjoyment of human rights is routinely denied to women who live in poverty. How can human rights respond and alleviate gender-based poverty? This monograph closely examines the potential of equality and non-discrimination at international law to redress gender-based poverty. It offers a sophisticated assessment of how the international human rights treaties, specifically the Convention on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW), which contains no obligations on poverty, can be interpreted and used to address gender-based poverty. An interpretation of CEDAW that incorporates the harms of gender-based poverty can spark a global dialogue. The book makes an important contribution to that dialogue, arguing that the CEDAW should serve as an authoritative international standard setting exercise that can activate international accountability mechanisms and inform the domestic interpretation of human rights.
Women and the Law (Peggy) by
Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to womens roles in society and the law. This unique collection of materials provides a platform to research the progression of womens roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Also included are more than 70 titles from Emory University Law Schools Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender.
