Treaties

Treaties in Force is prepared by the Department of State for the purpose of providing information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party and which are carried on the records of the Department of State as being in force as of its stated publication date. Treaties in Force is arranged in two sections. Section 1 includes bilateral treaties and other international agreements listed by country or other international entity with subject headings under each entry. Section 2 lists multilateral treaties and other international agreements to which the United States is a party, arranged by subject.

Designed to be used in conjunction with Treaties in Force (TIF) and provides access points well beyond those found in Treaties in Force. The Guide contains three parts and a supplement: Part 1 is a numerical list of bilateral and multilateral treaties and agreements listed in TIF; Part 2 provides expanded subject lists of the treaties and agreements; and Part 3 provides a chronological index to U.S. multilateral treaties and agreements in force. Finally, the supplement cumulates and indexes the information about treaty developments that have occurred since the cut-off date of the latest edition of TIF. 1982 - present

Current Treaty Index is an extensive and comprehensive catalogue of treaty information published twice a year. The Current Treaty Index also includes multiple indexes arranging information numerically, by subject, chronologically and geographically. 1982 - present

The first official publication of U.S. treaties and international agreements is through the Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS), which is a series of consecutively numbered, individually paginated pamphlets containing the texts of agreements in English and other official languages of the agreement. 1981 - Present

Law students & faculty only. The U.S. Treaties on Lexis includes not only treaties signed by the President with the advice and consent of the US Senate, but also international agreements from the U.S. Government. Documents are obtained directly from the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Senate, as well as authoritative U.S. government publications, including: Treaties transmitted to the Senate for consideration, usually including transmittal messages from the President and the Secretary of State; Slip Documents: Treaties and international agreements released by the US Department of State, but not yet printed in TIAS; T.I.A.S. from 1985; U.S.T. 1949-1984 ; Bevan's Treaties and Other International Agreements 1776-1949 This compilation includes older terminated, superseded, or abolished treaties for your historical research needs.

Law students & faculty only. Coverage of international treaties begins with volume 8 Statutes at Large (1778) through volume 64 (1949) when United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (U.S.T.) became the official publication. Coverage for U.S.T. begins with volume 1 part 1 and continues through volume 35 part IV (TIAS 10978, 1984). Subsequent treaties and other international agreements published in the Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS) from TIAS No. 10979 forward are also included. Senate Treaty Document coverage begins with the 103rd Congress (1993), and State Department documents with State Dept. No. 90-1 (1990). Coverage also includes ""Case-Zablocki Act"" documents transmitted by the Secretary of State to the Congress beginning with 1990 transmittals. New Senate and State Department documents are added as they are made available by the government.

Beginning in 1950, treaties and executive agreements have been published in a chronological series called United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST). UST includes the text of each treaty in the languages of the signatories. HeinOnline includes all published volumes of the UST series. Vols. 1-35 (1950-1984)

The EAS series includes executive agreements from 1928-1945. It merged with the Treaty Series in 1946 to form T.I.A.S. Presidents may conclude executive agreements through statutory or Constitutional authority or by a prior treaty provision. Executive Agreements do not require the advice and consent of the Senate.

Covers Article II treaties from 1795-1945. A precursor to the TIAS series, the Treaty Series was printed by the Department of State as individual pamphlets. Bound collections also exist.

Article II treaties were printed in this set until 1948. 64 Stat. B1107 contains a cumulative index of treaties published in the Statutes at Large.

This title contains treaties approved by Congress during the time period from the Declaration of Independence through 1845. In addition to listing the treaties concluded in this time period, U.S. Statutes at Large contains summaries of court cases construing these treaties. Volume 7 comprises treaties between the United States and Native Americans. Volume 8 contains treaties between the United States and foreign nations. Vols. 6-18 (1789-1875)