Research Guides: Researching Judges: Clerkships

About

A judicial clerkship provides a valuable opportunity to develop your legal skills by reviewing case files, drafting opinions, and attending trials. In addition to the development of legal skills, a judicial clerkship also provides real world exposure to the inner workings of the court. Judicial clerks witness the oral and written style of practicing attorneys appearing before the court, as well as the dress and demeanor expected in front of the judge. The legal and practical skills that can be obtained through a judicial clerkship also provide a strong addition to a resume.

Judicial Clerkships

Federal Law Clerk Salaries The salary available to a law clerk depends upon legal work experience subsequent to graduation from law school, bar membership and applicable locality pay adjustments. The federal judiciary uses the same locality rate as the executive branch. The hiring judge, as the appointing authority, certifies a law clerk's actual grade and step, and thus sets the salary, at the time of appointment. Most recent law school graduates with academic excellence qualify for an appointment at least at grade JSP-11, step 1 (annual base salary of $50,287). One year of post-graduate legal experience and bar membership qualifies the appointee for grade JSP-12, step 1, appointment with an annual base salary of $60,274.
Federal Judges Law Clerk Hiring Plan Hiring plan designed for all federal judges, including Circuit Judges, District Court Judges, Magistrate Judges, and Bankruptcy Judges.
Inside Appellate Courts: The Impact of Court Organization on Judicial Decision Making in the Organizational study of the appellate judicial process. Chapter 4 discusses the role of the law clerk.
Judging: A Book for Student Clerks Provides a series of short readings by and about judges. Location: UC College of Law Center for Professional Development, Suite 201G
Judicial Externships: The Clinic Inside the Courthouse Provides detailed information on judicial administration and opinion. Chapter 1 discusses the role of the judicial clerk.
Law Clerk Handbook: A Handbook for Law Clerks to Federal Judges This handbook provides an overview of chambers operations and the work of the federal courts.
Law School Confidential: The Complete Law School Survival Guide, by Students, for Students Includes information on State and Federal clerkships, why people clerk and how to apply for a judicial clerkship. See Chapter 22, Demystifying Judicial Clerkships: Heigh Thee to the Chambers.
The Legal Career Guide: From Law Student to Lawyer Includes information on State and Federal clerkships and how to apply for a judicial clerkship. See Chapter 21, Judicial Clerkships.
Martindale-Hubbell Listings Use this database to search for UC graduates who have clerked for a particular judge. Select Advanced Search and search for Job Title: clerk and Law School: University of Cincinnati.
NALP Insight and Inside Information for Select State Court Clerkships This document was compiled based on information provided by Career Services Office representatives from law schools all over the country. This document should be read in conjunction with The Guide to State Court Judicial Clerkships, published by The Vermont Law School.
Online System for Clerkship Application and Review (OSCAR) The central online resource for federal law clerk and appellate court staff attorney hiring.
UC College of Law Center for Professional Development, Suite 201G UC LAW students interested in clerking should contact the CPD (cpdlaw@uc.edu) to request a copy of the Judicial Clerkship Planning Guide.
Vermont Guide to State Court Judicial Clerkship Procedures Provides information on clerkship opportunities and application procedures in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, and Puerto Rico.
more...less...
This Guide is available to UC Law students through Symplicity.
West's Legal Directory (WLD) This database is available to UC LAW students and faculty. Access through Westlaw WLD database. Use this database to search for UC graduates who have clerked for a particular Court. For example, to find UC graduates who have clerked in the Southern District of Ohio, search: LS(“university of cincinnati”) & (clerk w/5 “southern district of ohio”)