Research Guides: Adjunct Law Faculty Guide to the Law Library: Law Library Legal Research Tutorials

General Legal Research Video Tutorials

Please note that Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law are only available to law students, MLS students, and law faculty.

Virtual Tour of the Robert S. Marx Law Library Welcome to the Robert S. Marx Law Library! This is a short virtual tour of the Law Library. It is 7:05 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Introduction to TWEN Video -- Susan Boland This video provides a brief introduction to TWEN. It covers accessing TWEN, adding a course, accessing TWEN courses, the Syllabi course, and where to find help with TWEN. The video is 4:18 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Introduction to Sources of Law & Legal Authority Video Part 1 This video discusses sources of law and legal authority among the different branches of government and the difference between primary and secondary authority in legal sources. The video is
Introduction to Sources of Law & Legal Authority Part 2: Hierarchy of Case Law This video focuses on the hierarchy of case law and looks at the federal court system and several different state court systems. The video is 7:29 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Research Strategy & Documentation Video Part 1 -- by Susan Boland This video covers the importance of legal research and of having a research strategy for every problem. It addresses what to do when you get a research assignment and how to start your plan. The video is 5:13 min. long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Research Strategy & Documentation Part 2 Video -- by Susan Boland This video continues the Research Strategy & Documentation process by discussing the research process, tracking your research, documenting your research, and turning in your research. The video is 6:30 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Researching a Problem from Start to Finish Video Part 1: Research Process and Fact Pattern Analysis -- by Susan Boland This series of videos cover how to research a legal problem from start to finish. Part 1 discusses the research process and analyzing facts. It features closed captioning. It is 6:34 min. long and opens in a new window.
Researching a Problem from Start to Finish Video Part II: Secondary Sources -- by Susan Boland This video discusses researching a problem from start to finish. It is the second part of a four part series. Part two covers secondary sources. This video is 14:16 min.long and is closed captioned. It opens in a new window.
Researching a Problem from Start to Finish Video Part III: Using an Annotated Code -- by Susan Boland This video discusses researching a problem from start to finish. It is the second part of a four part series. Part three covers using an annotated code. This video is 8:44 min.long and is closed captioned. It opens in a new window.
Researching a Problem from Start to Finish Video Part IV: Finding and Verifying Cases -- by Susan Boland This video discusses researching a problem from start to finish. It is the last video of a four part series. Part four covers finding cases and making sure they are still good law. This video is 12:37 min.long and is closed captioned. It opens in a new window.
Introduction to Legal Analytics Part 1 -- by Susan Boland This video introduces you to legal analytics. It discusses why you might want to learn more about legal analytics and how firms and companies are using them. It then identifies the different types of analytics and some of the issues surrounding legal analytics.
Introduction to Legal Analytics Part 2: Selected Litigation Analytics Products -- by Susan Boland This video takes you on a quick tour of 3 litigation analytics products from: (1) Bloomberg Law; (2) Westlaw; and (3) Lexis. It will demonstrate searching for firm analytics and judge analytics in all three. The video is 8:53 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
2014 Memo 3 Research Help: Confession Suppression Issue Video -- by Susan Boland This video provides research help for the 2014 Memo 3 assignment. It covers researching the confession suppression issue, beginning with useful secondary sources. It discusses the research process, using library guides to find relevant and authoritative Pennsylvania secondary sources, navigating to Pennsylvania secondary sources on Westlaw, using the state annotated code to find the applicable statute and cases interpreting the statute, keyciting the statute to make sure it is still good law, using headnotes from one case to find more cases on a suppression issue, and keyciting cases to make sure they are still good law and to find more cases on the issue.The video is 10:01 min. long and is closed captioned.
2014 Memo 3 Research Help: Self-Defense Video -- by Susan Boland This video is provided to help research the 2014 Memo 3 assignment and covers the self-defense issue. It discusses the research process, using library guides to find relevant and authoritative Pennsylvania secondary sources, navigating to Pennsylvania secondary sources on Lexis and Westlaw, using the state annotated code to find the applicable statute and cases interpreting the statute, shepardizing and keyciting the statute to make sure it is still good law, using headnotes from one case to find more cases on a self-defense issue, and shepardizing and keyciting cases to make sure they are still good law and to find more cases on the issue. It is 9:35 min. long and is closed captioned.
2015 Memo 3 Research Help Part 1 Video: Researching Covenants Not to Compete on Lexis -- by Susan Boland This video will help you get started on researching your memo assignment. It covers researching a Covenant-Not-to-Compete in Michigan on Lexis Advance. It is 9:53 minutes long and features closed captioning.
2015 Memo 3 Research Help Part 2 Video: Researching Covenants Not to Compete on Westlaw -- by Susan Boland This video will help you get started on researching your memo assignment. It covers researching a Covenant-Not-to-Compete in Michigan on Westlaw. It is 7:40 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
2016 Memo Help: Researching a Kentucky Defacto Custodian Issue on Lexis Advance -- by Susan Boland This video will help you research your memo issue, researching a Kentucky defacto custodian issue. It is 5:43 minutes long and features closed captioning.
2016 Memo Help: Researching a Kentucky Defacto Custodian Issue on Westlaw -- by Susan Boland This video will help you research your memo on the Kentucky Defacto Custodian issue. It is 5:46 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Help with 2019 October Memo Research on Texas Premises Liability -- by Susan M Boland This video demonstrates how to use Texas Jurisprudence 3d on Lexis and Westlaw to find cases on premises liability. The video is 2:19 minutes long and features closed captioning
Public Records Searching Video -- by Susan Boland Even if you don't have access to the expensive proprietary private records databases, you can find out a lot just using public or popular resources. This video demonstrates some of those sources.This video is 14:21 minutes long and features closed captioning.

Secondary Sources

Please note that Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law are only available to law students and law faculty.

Researching Secondary Sources Video: Introduction to Legal Encyclopedias -- by Susan Boland This video introduces you to researching secondary sources, specifically legal encyclopedias. It covers what legal encyclopedias are and how they fit into the research process. It also demonstrates the structure and organization of legal encyclopedias and how to use an encyclopedia in print. The video is 8:38 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using Legal Encyclopedias on Lexis Advance -- by Susan Boland This video covers how to find and use legal encyclopedias on Lexis Advance. It shows the structure and organization of an encyclopedia on Lexis and demonstrates how to use the table of contents. This video is 5:18 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using Legal Encyclopedias on Westlaw -- by Susan Boland This video covers how to find and use legal encyclopedias on Westlaw. It shows the structure and organization of an encyclopedia on Westlaw and demonstrates how to use the index and table of contents. This video is 6:07 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Introduction to Restatements & Finding them on HeinOnline -- by Susan Boland This video explains what a Restatement of the Law is and when it should be used for legal research. It discusses unique features and finding tools for restatements as well as how to locate them on HeinOnline. The video is 4:42 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Introduction to American Law Reports -- by Susan Boland This video explains what the American Law Reports are and when they should be used for legal research. It discusses ALR finding tools, and how to locate ALRs online. The video is 10:25 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using ALRs on Lexis -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to find and use ALRs on Lexis Advance. It discusses the structure and organization of an online ALR and demonstrates the ALR finding tools of the ALR Article Index, the ALR Article Outline, and the Table of Jurisdictions. The video is 8:14 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using ALRs on Westlaw This video demonstrates how to find and use ALRs on Westlaw. It covers the structure and organization of an ALR on Westlaw and shows you how to use the ALR Complete Series Index, ALR Article Index, ALR Article Outline, and Table of Jurisdictions on Westlaw. The video is 9:32 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Introduction to Legal Periodicals -- by Susan Boland This video introduces you to legal periodicals. It covers the different types of legal periodicals, when and why you would use a legal periodical, how to evaluate the legal authority of legal periodical articles, and how to find legal periodicals on HeinOnline. The video is 9:04 minutes long and features closed captioning. minutes long and features a table of contents and closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Using Lexis & Westlaw to Find Law Reviews and Legal Periodicals -- by Susan Boland This video covers how to find legal periodicals on Lexis and Westlaw. It demonstrates finding legal periodicals by citation, keyword searching, and by topic. The video is 6:42 minutes long and feature closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Introduction to Treatises -- by Susan Boland This video explains what a treatise is, how they are structured, treatise finding aids, and when you should use one for legal research, and how to find them in print. This video is 8:09 minutes long and features and closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using Treatises on Lexis Advance -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to find and use treatises on Lexis. It is 7:07minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using Treatises on Westlaw -- by Susan Boland This video covers how to find and use treatises on Westlaw. It is 8:24 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Help with 2019 October Memo Research on Texas Premises Liability -- by Susan M Boland This video demonstrates how to use Texas Jurisprudence 3d on Lexis and Westlaw to find cases on premises liability. The video is 2:19 minutes long and features closed captioning
How to Find Tax Materials on CCH Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to find tax materials on CCH's IntelliConnect. It includes tax finding tools, e-indexes, and how to search. This video is 3:36 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Finding Tax Treatises on Westlaw Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates different methods for finding tax treatises on Westlaw. The video is 4:25 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Finding Tax Management Portfolios Using Bloomberg Law Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how you can find Tax Management Portfolios using Bloomberg Law. It also explains Tax Management Portfolio finding tools and search methods. The video is 5:56 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Using Lexis Tax Advisor Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to use the Lexis Tax Advisor, including explanation of how to find it on Lexis Advance, using the table of contents, getting documents, and searching. The video is 2:34 minutes long and is closed captioned.

Constitutions & Statutes

Please note that Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law are only available to law students and law faculty.

United States Constitution: Researching Its History and Analysis Video -- by Ken Hirsh This video explores how to research Constitutional Law. It covers specialized resources such as Elliot's Debates, as well as general resources such as annotated codes. It is 7:28 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Using Elliot's Debatesto Research Constitutional History (video opens in a new window) -- by Ken Hirsh This video demonstrates how to use Elliot's Debates on the Library of Congress A Century of Lawmaking. The video is 1:57 minutes long.
Researching Statutes: Organization of Constitutions & Codes -- Susan M Boland This video describes what a statute is, what a code is, and how constitutions and codes are organized. It is 6:31 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Researching Statutes: Annotated Codes on Lexis & Westlaw -- Susan Boland This video covers the format of annotated codes on Lexis and Westlaw and discusses navigation aids within each statutory section such as the table of contents, as well as editorial enhancements such as the case annotations, research references, and more. The video is 5:01 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Researching Statutes: Statutory Finding Tools This video looks at how to retrieve a statute by citation, how to get to an annotated code, and how to use statutory finding tools such as the index, table of contents, and popular names table. The video is 7:38 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Federal Law Part I: Overview of Constitutions, Statutes, and Legal Authority Video -- by Susan Boland This video introduces US Constitutional and statutory law. It explains where they fit in the hierarchy of legal authority, what a session law is, what a code is, and the difference between official and unofficial codes. The video is 11:24 minutes long and features closed captioning
Federal Law Part II Video: Researching Constitutional & Statutory Law on Westlaw Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to find constitutional and federal statutory law on Westlaw. It covers finding constitutions and statutes by citation, using code annotations, and using KeyCite. This video is 12:166 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Federal Law Part III: Researching Constitutional & Statutory Law on Lexis Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to research a constitutional and federal statutory issue on Lexis Advance. It covers finding constitutions and statutes by citation, using the annotations, and using Shepards. The video is 11:52 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Federal Law Part IV: Researching Constitutions and Statutes on Bloomberg Law Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to research a constitutional and statutory issue on Bloomberg Law. It describes retrieving constitutions and statutes by citation, using the table of contents, and explores the case analysis feature. The video is 6:10 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Advanced Statutory Citators Video -- by Susan Boland This video discusses how to make sure your statutes are still good law and how to use citators with statutes for further research. The video demonstrates some advanced features of KeyCite and Shepards that you can use with statutes. The video is 6:55 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching State Statutes, Session Laws & Superseded Codes Video -- by Susan Boland This video explains state session laws and state codes, the codification process, why and when you use state codes for legal research, how to find state codes (online and print), and how to find superseded codes. The video is 8:55 minutes long and features a table of contents and closed captioning.
Uniform & Model Laws Video -- by Susan Boland This video explains what a uniform law and model act are, explores the Uniform Laws Annotated set in print and online, demonstrates how to use the finding tools within this set, and discusses other online resources for uniform laws and model acts. This video is 7:43 minutes long and features closed captioning.
50 State Surveys Video -- by Susan Boland This video looks at how to find 50-state surveys of statutory law. It covers online and some print resources. The video is 9:28 minutes long and features closed captioning.

Case Law

Please note that Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law are only available to law students and law faculty.

Hierarchy of Case Law Authority Video -- by Susan Boland This video discusses the hierarchy of case law authority, the parallel federal and state systems, stare decisis, and how a case moves through the courts. It is 14:41 minutes long and features closed captions.
Parts of a Case Video -- by Susan Boland This video breaks down the parts of a case from the citation to the holding. It is 8:39 minutes long. It is closed captioned.
Finding Cases by Citation Video -- by Susan Boland This video breaks down the citation of a case and demonstrates how to find it in a print reporter, on Lexis Advance, and on Westlaw. It is 2:49 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Using Westlaw Topic & Key Numbers to Find Cases Video -- by Susan Boland This video covers how to use one case to find more cases on Westlaw. It breaks down the parts of a headnote, discusses the topic and key number system and instructs on how to use these features to find cases. The video is 6:57 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Using Lexis Headnotes & Topics to Find Cases Video -- by Susan Boland This video explains the differences between Lexis and Westlaw headnotes. It also demonstrates how to find cases using the headnote topics from another case. It also covers browsing Lexis Topics to find cases. The video is 3:56 min. long and features closed captioning.
Using Citators for Cases Video -- by Susan Boland This video covers using Shepard's and KeyCite with cases. It identifies what a citator is, discusses the citator symbols and what they mean, and gives examples of using a citator for research and to determine if your case is still good law. The video is 13:35 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Finding Dockets & Litigation Documents Video -- by Susan Boland A docket is a calendar and a table of contents for the materials filed in a court case. Once upon a time, you would have had to go to the courthouse to get a docket. Now most Federal and some state court dockets are available online. This video, updated in 2024, demonstrates how and where to find dockets and court documents online. It is 12:16 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Federal Law Part 4: Researching Federal Case Law Video -- by Susan Boland This video covers how to research federal case law. It explains the federal court hierarchy, using headnotes for research, using citators to validate cases and for research, and other methods of finding cases. The video is 16:47 minutes long and features closed captioning.

Lexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg Law Searching

Please note that Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law are only available to law students and law faculty.

Basic Terms & Connectors Video Part I: Lexis & Westlaw Pricing -- by Susan Boland This video provides an overview of Lexis and Westlaw pricing structures. The video is 4:22 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Basic Terms & Connectors Part 2: Framing the Issue and Brainstorming terms -- Susan M Boland This video demonstrates how to analyze a fact pattern in order to frame your issue for online searching. The video is 6:51 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Basic Terms & Connectors Video Part 3: Selecting a Source -- by Susan Boland This video explains how to select the appropriate source for online searching in Lexis and Westlaw. It provides questions to ask and demonstrates finding sources by name, browsing for sources, and how to identify the scope note. It also explains the importance of the scope note. This video is 9:15 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Basic Terms & Connectors Part 4: Choosing a Search Method -- by Susan Boland This video explains the different search methods available in Lexis and Westlaw and when to use which search method. The video is 7:15 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Basic Terms & Connectors Video Part 5: Constructing Searches -- by Susan Boland This video explains terms and connectors (also known as Boolean) searching on Lexis and Westlaw. It covers stop words, truncation, plurals, acronyms, connectors, and order of processing. The video is 15:38 minutes long and features a closed captioning and a table of contents.
Basic Terms & Connectors Searching on Lexis & Westlaw Video for LLM Students: Constructing Search Queries -- by Susan Boland This video is designed for LLM students and covers choosing essential terms, accounting for variations of those terms, and selecting appropriate connectors between those terms. It is 12:18 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Advanced Lexis & Westlaw Searching Video Part I: Folders Part I of the Advanced Lexis and Westlaw searching series of videos deals with Folders. These tools can help organize your research and make it more cost effective and efficient. The video is 7:08 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Advanced Lexis & Westlaw Searching Video Part 2: Highlighting, Annotations, and History This video looks at the cost and time efficient tools of highlighting, annotations, and history in Lexis and Westlaw. The video is 3:33 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Advanced Lexis & Westlaw Searching Video Part 3: Fields & Segments -- by Susan Boland This video explains how to use fields and segments in Lexis and Westlaw for advanced searching. It also covers some of the more useful fields and segments. The video is 8:45 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Advanced Lexis & Westlaw Searching Video Part 4: Commands & Filters for 1Ls -- by Susan Boland This video for 1-L students covers using selected commands and filters in Lexis and Westlaw. It is 9:48 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Advanced Lexis & Westlaw Searching Video Part 4: Advanced Commands & Filters [for advanced users] -- by Susan Boland This video describes how to use commands and filters for advanced searching in Lexis and Westlaw. It covers more commands than the video created for 1-L viewers. The video is 11:31 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Advanced Lexis & Westlaw Searching Video Part 5: Filters, Fields & Segments -- by Susan Boland This video, updated in 2021, explains how to use filters, fields and segments in Lexis and Westlaw for advanced searching. It also covers some of the more useful fields and segments. The video is 11:51 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Advanced Lexis & Westlaw Searching Video Part 6: Commands & Special Search Techniques -- by Susan Boland This video covers Westlaw commands such as Find, KeyCite, Database Identifier, and Publication Name; as well as turning plurals on and off on a Lexis or Westlaw search. The video also identifies general cost saving search techniques, using the Lexis Legal Issue Trail, the Lexis Atleast command, and more. The video is 9:27 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Cost Effective Research on Lexis -- by Shannon Kemen This video discusses how to perform cost effective research on Lexis.
Cost Effective Research on Westlaw -- by Shannon Kemen This video explains how you can conduct cost effective research on Westlaw.

Free & Low Cost Alternatives to Lexis & Westlaw

Please note that CaseMakerX is only available to law students and law faculty. Fastcase is only available on-campus in the Law Library.

Decisis Decisis is a low-cost legal research alternative to Lexis and Westlaw. This video introduces Decisis and discusses it's coverage. It also covers searching and browsing the service, including using filters, connectors, truncation, and InterCite (the citator). The video is 5:01 min. long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
FastCase Video -- by Susan Boland This video, updated in 2020, describes one of the low cost alternatives to Lexis and Westlaw: FastCase. It covers boolean search connectors, truncation, citators, and search examples. It is 7:06 minutes long. It is close captioned.
Casetext Video -- by Susan Boland This video covers one more low cost alternative to Lexis and Westlaw: Casetext. The video demonstrates searching by keyword and CaraAI on Casetext, as well as going over connectors, truncation, and the SmartCite citator. The video is 4:16 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Free Legal Resources Video Part I: Official and Authentic -- by Susan Boland This video discusses free legal resources and the differences between an official resource, an authentic resource, and one that is neither. The video is 7:07 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Free Legal Resources Video Part II: Selected Sources -- by Susan Boland This video discusses selected good quality free legal resources. The video is 13:46 minutes long and features closed captioning.

Administrative Law

Please note that Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law are only available to law students and law faculty.

Introduction to the CFR -- by Susan Boland This video, updated in 2024, discusses the structure and organization of the CFR, parts of a CFR citation, finding regulations in the CFR, and more. This video is 7:05 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Administrative Law Research Using the CFR -- by Susan M Boland This video provides an introduction to the structure and organization of the Code of Federal Regulations and demonstrates using the CFR Parallel Table of Authorities & Rules, the CFR Index , and advanced searching on Lexis, Westlaw, and Govinfo.gov to find regulations. The video is 12:18 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Updating Regulations from the CFR -- By Susan M Boland This video demonstrates how to update official and unofficial CFR regulations. It covers where and how to access the List of CFR Sections Affected and going to the Federal Register's CFR Parts Affected for the month in the Reader Aids' section. It also looks at shepardizing and keyciting regulations. The video is 8:51 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Administrative Law Research: Tracking Regulations -- by Susan M Boland This video discusses the Federal rulemaking process and how to track regulations as they move through the process. It covers how to find Unified Agendas, checking the status of a regulation as it undergoes the White House Review, finding proposed rules, commenting on proposed rules and finding other people's comments on a proposed rule, and final rules. The video looks at tracking tools such as reginfo.gov, regulations.gov, and federalregister.gov, as well as tools available on Justia, Lexis, and Westlaw. The video is 8:23 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Administrative Law Research: Administrative Decisions -- by Susan M Boland This video covers researching administrative decisions. It provides information on the Administrative Procedures Act; formal adjudications; and how to find decisions on agency websites, HeinOnline, Lexis, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law, and Cheetah. The video is 10:56 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Administrative Law Research: Judicial Review of Agency Actions -- by Susan M Boland This video covers judicial review of agency actions. It explains when judicial review can take place and demonstrates how to find cases reviewing administrative actions using the annotated administrative codes, shepards and keycite, and keyword searching. The video is 7:17 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Administrative Law Research: Presidential Documents -- by Susan M Boland This video covers how to find presidential documents, including executive orders, proclamations, administrative orders, tweets, signing statements, and veto messages. Among the sources looked at are: The Compilation of Presidential Documents, Congress.gov, Papers of the Presidents, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, govinfo.gov, HeinOnline, The American Presidency Project, and Lexis and Westlaw. The video is 10:29 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching State Administrative Law -- Susan Boland This video covers how to research state administrative law. It covers general state administrative law resources and rulemaking, Ohio rulemaking, using state administrative codes, updating and tracking state regulations, keyciting and shepardizing administrative codes, and finding administrative decisions. The video is 10:36 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Municipal & Local Government Law Video -- by Susan Boland This video explains what municipal law is, how to find charters and ordinances, and how to find cases interpreting municipal law. This video is 6:33 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Finding Private Letter Rulings on CCH & Bloomberg BNA -- by Susan Boland Uses Flash & audio (5 min.)

Company Research

Business Filings & Company Research Part I: Introduction Video -- by Susan Boland This video provides an introduction to performing company research. It is 5:55 minutes long and is closed captioned.
Business Filings & Company Research Part 2: Public Companies & SEC Filings This video demonstrates resources for finding information on private and specialized companies. It is 6:54 minutes long. It is closed captioned.
Business Filings & Company Research Part 3: Private Companies In part 3 of our videos on Business Filings & Company Research, we look at private companies. This video is 10:55 minutes long and is closed caption.
Business Filings & Company Research Part 4: Specialized Resources In part 4 of our videos on Business Filings & Company Research, we look at specialty resources. This video is 9:52 minutes long and features closed captioning.

Legal Citation

Tips & Tricks for Citation for Moot Court Part I: Bluebook Organization & General Rules This video provides a guide to citation for those participating in Moot Court. Part I of the video series covers major changes in the 21st edition of the Bluebook, the organization of the Bluebook, and general rules 1-9. The video is 12:05 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Tips & Tricks for Citation for Moot Court Part 2: Specific Source Rules This video covers the specific source rules 10 (cases), 12 (statutes and session laws), and 14 (administrative regulations) in the Bluebook. It is 9:58 minutes long and features a table of contents and closed captioning.
Tips & Tricks for Citation for Moot Court Part 3: Brief Formatting & Citation Tools This video looks at using Word in brief formatting and citation tools to help you with Bluebook citation in your brief. The video is 6:54 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.

Legal Ethics

Researching Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility Part I: Fact Pattern Analysis Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to analyze a fact pattern. This video is 6:59 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility Part II: Secondary Sources Video -- by Susan Boland This video looks at secondary sources for researching legal ethics and professional responsibility. The video is 9:59 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility Part III: Rules and Opinions Video -- by Susan Boland This video illustrates how to find ethics rules and opinions in a variety of sources. It is 4:56 minutes long and is closed captioned and features a table of contents.

International Law

Foreign & International Law Research Video Part 1 -- by Susan Boland This video introduces the researcher to international and foreign law. It covers the differences between International, Foreign, Comparative, and Transnational law. It discusses a research strategy and introduces research guides and background resources for beginning your research. The video is 8:43 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Foreign & International Law Research Video Part II: Treaty Research This video introduces you to treaty research. It covers how treaties and executive agreements are made in the United States and how to find them. It also demonstrates finding bilateral and multilateral treaties between other countries. The video is 13 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Foreign & International Law Research Video Part III: Foreign Law This video introduces you to foreign law. It covers guides to foreign law and where to find it. The video is 6:57 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Foreign & International Law Research Video Part IV: IGOs & NGOs This video shows how to research Intergovernmental Organizations and Non-governmental Organizations. Particular attention is devoted to the UN. It is 16:03 minutes long and is closed captioned.

Tax Law

Please note that Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law are only available to law students and law faculty.

Finding Tax Treatises on Westlaw Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates different methods for finding tax treatises on Westlaw. The video is 4:25 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Finding Tax Management Portfolios Using Bloomberg Law Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how you can find Tax Management Portfolios using Bloomberg Law. It also explains Tax Management Portfolio finding tools and search methods. The video is 5:56 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Using Lexis Tax Advisor Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to use the Lexis Tax Advisor, including explanation of how to find it on Lexis Advance, using the table of contents, getting documents, and searching. The video is 2:34 minutes long and is closed captioned.