Research Guides: Guide to Researching US Tax Policy: Congressional Research Service Reports

Congressional Research Service Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a division of the Library of Congress. They produce analytical, non-partisan reports on topics of interest to members of Congress. While they do not maintain a public website for dissemination of these reports, there are a number of free and subscription sites where you can find CRS reports. You can also request copies from your Congressional Representative.

Archive-It Congressional Research Service Reports This site searches across many of the sites that provide free access to CRS reports - often a lag in current updates.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) From the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Security and Defense website. A searchable free collection updated weekly.
University of Maryland, Thurgood Marshall Law Library CRS Reports
Federation of American Scientists CRS Reports Includes reports on intelligence, military and national security, special weapons, and civil space.
Congressional Research Service Reports (University of North Texas) This site provides an integrated, searchable database of CRS reports since 1990. Both older and current reports on the same topic are archived so that users can see how the issues have changed over time.

Tax Specific CRS Reports are also available on:

Federal Taxation - Congressional Research Service on Westlaw Tax-related reports and issue briefs prepared by the Library of Congress' Congressional Research Service for members and committees of Congress. Coverage begins with 1989.