Skip to main content

Game Studies

Databases for Game Studies Research

The following databases contain, among other things, full text articles pertaining to computer and video game studies research, analysis, criticism, and other writings on the field.
See also the Journals page to search or browse selected journal and magazine titles.

Search across multiple databases with Summon

Keyword Search

Keyword search, the default option in mosty databases, finds your terms anywhere in the article record (journal title, article title, abstract, etc.). This search is rather broad and may return some irrelevant results.

General Search Terms

  • video games
  • videogames (one word)
  • electronic games
  • computer games
  • gaming
  • Internet games
  • online games

Game Studies Specific Terms

  • video games AND history
  • video games AND psychology
  • computer games AND psychology
  • computer games AND history
  • computer games AND psychological aspects
  • video games AND social aspects
  • computer games AND social aspects
  • video games AND children

Keyword search tip:

To increase the relevance of your results you can specify that your terms should be found in the title or subject. Most databases have drop-down menus for selecting the filed in which you want your term(s) to appear.

Database search box with field selection options

 

Subject Search

In databases items are assigned subject headings as access points to assist users in locating the content. When you do a subject search in a database, only the subject headings are searched for words that match your search terms. Using subject headings ensures that all items about the same topic have consistent subject headings and so they can all be accessed with one search term.

Subject search tips

  • Look to see if your database has a list of subjects/thesaurus that you can search or browse to find the subject heading(s) that best match your topic.

Subject terms in the database menu bar

Thesaurus in a database menu bar

  • Do a keyword search. Display the record for a relevant article and follow the subject heading(s) attached to it.

Article record with subject terms

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati