"This reference work provides a guide to popular video games of the 1970s and early 1980s. Each chapter includes a brief history and description of the game system, followed by a complete listing of video games released for that console. Glossary provides a helpful guide to the classic video game genres and terms referenced throughout the work"
Throughout recorded history, mankind has turned to language play as a source of entertainment and intellectual stimulation. This unique new reference provides comprehensive listings and explainations, together with samples and historical information, concerning the hundreds of letter and word games, puzzles, and linguistic entertainments that enrich our cultural life. In an introductory section, the author discusses the various ways of manipulating words and letters and the relation of this pastime to literature, linguistics, education and humor. He comments on the use of word-play techniques in the teaching of language arts, noting their demonstrated benefits in stimulating creativity and motivating the unwilling student. Turning to the literary uses of language play, he talks about writers--from Shakespeare, Dickens, James Joyce, and Gertrude Stein to the dadaists, Edward Lear, Ogden Nash, and various contemporary literary artists--whose linguistic devices run the gamut from riddles, acrostics, cross-word puzzles, and anagrams--are considered, along with individual and group games intended to entertain, teach skills, or challenge the imagination or intellect.
This encyclopedia collects and organizes theoretical and historical content on the topic of video games, covering the people, systems, technologies, and theoretical concepts as well as the games themselves. * More than 300 A–Z cross-referenced and integrated entries, from Atari to Zelda * Dozens of screenshots and photographs * A "Further Reading" bibliography section is included with many entries
"At Encyclopedia.com, you get free access to nearly 200,000 reference entries from sources you can cite. Plus, more than 50,000 topic summaries feature related pictures, videos, topic summaries, and newspaper and magazine articles from around the world."
The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine¸ and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.