Skip to main content

Reading Around the World at UC Libraries

Books from many countries of world in the English translation from UC Libraries' collections.

About this Guide

Cover of the book "The World Between Two Covers"The idea of this Guide came from UC International. It is based on the list A Year of Reading Around the World compiled by Ann Morgan, a freelance writer who challenged herself to read a work from each of the countries of the world in the year of London Olympics. Her year of reading resulted in the book published in the United States under the title The World Between Two Covers.

Just like the original list, this Guide features books in the English translation to maximize the number of people who can read them. We have modified the list to include titles available at UC Libraries or through OhioLINK. Working on the Guide motivated us to review and expand our collection of titles by authors from various countries. We hope that the Guide will grow thanks to your suggestions.

We'll be rotating the titles for the UC community to learn more about the literatures of various countries.Please suggest your favorite international titles.

Featured book


Ishiguro, Kazuo. An Artist of the Floating World. New York : Putnam's, c1986. Langsam Stacks PR6059.S5 A89 1986

Image result for an artist of the floating worldThis is the second book by Kazuo Ishiguro. It was recognized with Whitbread Book of the Year Award (1986).

In his review in The Japan Times Iain Maloney describes the book as "a sensitive examination of the turmoil in postwar Japan, a time when certainties were overturned, gender politics shifted, the hierarchy of the generations seemed to topple and even the geography of cities changed."

In October 2017 Nobel prize in literature has been awarded to Kazuo Ishiguro "who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world".

Ishiguro was born in 1954 in Nagasaki, Japan. His family moved to England in 1960.  He was raised bilingual and bi-cultural. He received a B.A. with honors in philosophy and literature from the University of Kent and a M.A. in creative writing from the University of East Anglia. He published his first novel, A Pale View of Hills, in 1982. It was recognized with Winifred Holtby Award from the Royal Society of Literature in 1983. In 1989 the author won the prestigious Booker Prize for his bestseller The Remains of the Day. Ishiguro was named to the Order of the British Empire for his literary work in 1995.

Two of Ishiguro’s novels were adapted into feature films: The Remains of the Day (1993, starring Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson) and Never Let Me Go (2010, directed by Alex Garland).

His most recent novel, The Buried Giant (2015), is set in the times of King Arthur and explores themes from British folklore.

UC Libraries' collections feature a number of books by Kazuo Ishiguro, including records of conversations with the author. Library databases, such as Literary Resource Center and Literature Resources Center, provide a wealth of information about Kazuo Ishiguro and his works.

We would like to feature different books throughout the year. Please suggest a book to be featured in the future. It would be great if with your suggestion you included a brief personal essay on why the book/author is special to you.or important for understanding a country or culture.

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati