Skip to main content

Graduate Students' Guide to Library Resources and Services

Resources, tools, and services provided to graduate students by the University of Cincinnati Libraries.

If you have a citation

You may already have a citation for an article from your professor's recommendation or another  source. This is how you would locate the article.

Method 1

On the UC Libraries page paste your article title in the red search box. If this is an exact title enclose it in quotation marks to avoid irrelevant hits.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


If the title is short and/or common, add the author's name and/or journal title.

Summon, our metasearch tool, will return results with links to online full text.

You can also use advanced Summon search.

Method 2

  • On the UC Libraries page click the Journals tab in the red search box. Alternatively you can use the search box on the Journals page of this guide. E-Journals advanced search page.
  • Type in as much of the journal title as you want.
    (Please note: this search option is for JOURNAL titles, not articles titles)!
  • Click "Search." The result will indicate which database/index to search for full text. Check the dates carefully to make sure the year you need is available electronically.

  • If an electronic version of the journal title or the desired issues it is not available electronically, you must then search the Library Catalog for a print issue. On the library record screen for the journal title note the location and call number of the journal. Please note that current issues are often found in a different location than bound journals.

Method 3.

If you have a topic

  • Choose a database that focuses on your topic. You can browse databases or choose a subject from the drop-down menu. Our Research Guides point you to the best databases by discipline.
  • Search the database. Use keyword (often the default setting) or subject searching with your topic terms to find articles. The index will locate citations related to your topic. An abstract or summary is often provided and sometimes the full text of the article is available. Tips for online searching.
  • Access your search results. Your results screen will display a list of brief citations sorted by date or relevancy. In most databases clicking on the title will reveal a complete citation and a summary.

Locate article full text

In some databases full text will follow the citation. In most instances for accessing full text you will have to look for icons that may look like this:

full text icons

If you don't see those icons or links don't work, look for the ArticleLinker icon. Clicking it will take you to the tool that searches for full text articles in library database. Learn how this tool works and how to make the most of it: ArticleLinker FAQ.

If the article is not available online ArticleLinker will suggest searching the library catalog for a print version or ordering the article via ILLiad (interlibrary loan):

Article linker options for an article not available online

After you click "Submit..." and login to your ILLiad account, the article request form will be automatically populated with the article information.

If all else fails...

If you have

  • an incomplete citation
  • an article title you don't remember exactly
  • a hard-to-research, obscure topic or concept

try Summon or Google Scholar (see search boxes below) - they are more "forgiving" than library databases. They may point you to online full text or you may search the tips above to search for a known article. Use Summon search results to see which databases cover your subject.

Search Summon

Google Scholar

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati