Skip to main content

How to Locate Engineering & Applied Science Literature

How to Locate Engineering & Applied Science Literature

Ask a Librarian

HOW TO LOCATE ENGINEERING & APPLIED SCIENCE LITERATURE

 

Type of Material

Producer

Access Tools

Location

Books

Authors, Publishers, Societies, Companies

UC Library /OhioLINK catalogs, Books Online,
WorldCat (OCLC), Books in Print,
Library catalogs on the Web, Amazon, Barnes&Noble, etc.

UC Libraries, OhioLINK delivery, Books Online, Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad), Purchase, Local Libraries

Reference Books,
Bibliographies,
Directories,
Catalogs,
Encyclopedias,
Databooks,
Handbooks,
Dictionaries,
Tables

Publisher, Companies, Societies

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs, WorldCat (OCLC),
Engineering and Applied Science Reference Guides, Books Online, Publisher catalogs, search engines

UC Libraries, Books Online, Public Library, Other Local Libraries, Companies, CDROMs, CEAS Library Databooks, Engineering and Applied Science Reference Guides

Journals

Publishers, Societies, Companies

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs, WorldCat (OCLC), Library catalogs on the Web, Full-Text Journals,
Serials Directory

UC Libraries, OhioLINK Libraries, Public Library, Other Local Libraries, Electronically through the UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs

Journal articles

Authors

Databases at UC, Full-Text Journals, search engines, Paper indexes and abstracts

UC Libraries, OhioLINK Libraries, Local Libraries, OhioLINK EJC, Full-Text Journals, Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).

Conference proceedings

Societies, Publishers for Societies, Companies,
Government

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs (Keyword search),
Compendex and other databases, ProceedingsFirst, Library catalogs on the Web, Search engines

UC Libraries, OhioLINK Libraries, Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad), Purchase at the conference

Conference papers

Presenters

COMPENDEX and other databases, Older paper indexes and abstracts, PapersFirst, Proceedings Online, search engines

UC Libraries, OhioLINK Libraries, Buy copy at conference, Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)

Government documents

US government departments and agencies, State governments, Foreign goverments

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs, Science.gov, Marchive Web DOCS, State Checklist of State Publications

UC Libraries - Government Documents (not all gov't docs are listed in the UC Library Catalog), OhioLINK libraries, US Gov't Bookstores or libraries, Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad), FDsys

Technical Reports (of govt-funded research)

US Government agencies, Research institutes, Universities, Companies

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs SciTech Connect DatabaseAerospace Database, NASA Technical Reports Server, search engines

UC Libraries, Order from DOE, NASA, Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad), Web

Technical Reports (corporate)

Companies

Databases, search engines

Company, Websites

Dissertations

US, Canadian and foreign universities

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global, NDLTD, Ohio theses

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad), Contact author, Buy from ProQuest, Author's advisor or author's department, OhioLINK

Standards and regulations

US Government, US Military, Industry, Societies

UC Library/OhioLINK catalogs (search on society name), Marcive Web DOCS, Standards Reference Guide, IEEE

UC Libraries, OhioLINK Libraries, Public Library, Issuing agency,Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad), Regulations on Lexis/Nexis, IEEE standards, Web

Patents

US Patent office,
Patent office of other countries

Patent databases on web, Patents Reference Guide, Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder online), Scopus, Other databases

USPTO, Espacenet, Freepatentsonline.com,
Patent offices of other countries

 

       

 

Return to Guide to the CEAS Library
Return to CEAS Library

Send comments to: Ted Baldwin, Director, Science & Engineering Libraries


Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati