Welcome!
|
Welcome to the UC Health Sciences Library's resource guides. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to visit the Health Sciences Library or contact the Health Sciences Librarians by phone (513-558-0127) or email. http://libraries.uc.edu/hsl/ |
|
|
Comments (0)
HSL Librarians
Leslie Schick: 558-4321 schickls@ucmail.uc.edu
Librarians:
Kristen Burgess: 558-3071 burgeskt@ucmail.uc.edu
Charlie Kishman: 558-3849 kishmacp@ucmail.uc.edu
Mary Piper: 558-1017 piperm@ucmail.uc.edu
Sharon Purtee: 558-1019 purteesa@ucmail.uc.edu
Edith Starbuck: 558-1433 starbuem@ucmail.uc.edu
Search for Tutorials Across UC Libraries
All Tutorials
- A
- Access eBooks at the UC HSL (1:02min)This tutorial shows how to access electronic books or eBooks available at the University of Cincinnati Health Sciences Library.
- Access HSL Resources from Off-Campus: Proxy Server (1:59min)This tutorial shows how to access Health Sciences Library resources from off-campus using the proxy server.
- Access Journals from the UC HSL (1:21min)This tutorial shows how to access journals available at the University of Cincinnati Health Sciences Library.
- Access UC HSL Full Text Resources from Off-Campus (2:08min)This tutorial shows how to access Health Sciences Library resources from off-campus.
- Access UC HSL Resources from Off-Campus: SSL VPN (1:39min)This tutorial shows how to access Health Sciences Library Resources from off-campus using the Secure Sockets Layer Virtual Private Network (SSL VPN).
- Access UC's Full Text Resources from PubMed (1:53min)This tutorial shows how to access full text resources available at the University of Cincinnati from PubMed.
- Acrobat Pro 9 (from adobe.com)
- AMA Style Guide Tour
- Anatomy Interactive Study GuideWinkingSkull.com. An interactive anatomy study guide. Register for a free account.
- APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)Created by The Writing Lab & The OWL at Purdue and Purdue University
- B
- Blackboard TutorialsFind online guides and tutorials by clicking on any of the links in the right menu
- C
- Camtasia Studio (from TechSmith's Learning Center)
- Captivate (from adobe.com)
- Creating Poster Presentations Using PPT 2010 (PDF)Microsoft Office templates are available from the UC branding website at http://www.uc.edu/ucomm/branding/templates.html
- D
- Dreamweaver CS5 (from adobe.com)
- DynaMed Basic Searching TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates the features and functionality of EBSCO's new DynaMed interface. Included are basic searching, browsing, creating alerts, viewing recently-updated content, and obtaining Continuing Medical Education credit for searches.
- E
- EBSCOhost - Advanced Search: Guided StyleOnline tutorials for searching databases on the EBSCOhost platform like ERIC and CINAHL.
- EBSCOhost - Advanced Search: Single Find
- EBSCOhost - Result List
- EBSCOhost - Using EBSCOhost Search History
- EndNote X4Lessons and webinars for EndNote x4 - x1
- Environmental Health and Toxicology Resources HelpInformation about SIS's Environmental Health and Toxicology Resources
- Evidence-Based Medicine Tutorials (UMass Medical School)Separate tutorials focused on creating and answering the clinical question are available for prognosis, therapy, diagnosis, and etiology.
- Evidence-Based Medicine Worksheets (Dartmouth Biomedical Libraries)Categories: Asking the Clinical Question, Appraising the Evidence (Critical Appraisal Worksheets), Apply the Evidence to the Patient, Putting it all together - Creating and Using CATs
- Evidence-Based Practice in the Health sciences: Evidence-Based Medicine Tutorial (UIC)"The following tutorial is designed to support both curriculum-based EBP instruction and the ongoing education of practicing professionals. The tutorial consists of five instructional modules: Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine, Structure of Literature, Research Design, Searching the Literature, Evaluating the Quality of Research"
- Evidence-Based Public Health (University of Michigan Informatics)The learning objectives of tis tutorial are to: (1) Learn strategies for effective retrieval of evidence-based public health resources, (2) Identify Web-based resources that support best evidence research and practice.
- F
- Facts and Comparisons Quick Start (PDF)
- Facts and Comparisons Tutorials
- Full Text Resources available at UC from Scopus (1:47min)This tutorial shows how to access full text resources available at the University of Cincinnati from Scopus.
- G
- Guide to Research Methods EBM Tutorial (SUNY Downstate Medical Center)This is a self-paced tutorial that defined EBM and helps answer questions about the process such as What is your question?
- H
- How to Set Up SSL VPN for Off Campus Access to UC eResourcesPDF with instructions for using the SSL VPN on IE, Firefox, Safari, and the iPad.
- HSL's Excel Charting (March 2013) - Full Class Recording
- HSL's Excel Tips (Feb 2013)Description: Learn about some of the newer features available in Excel to make you a more effective user. (wmv format)
- HSL's Free Screencasting Tools (Feb 2013)Description: Lean the basics on how to record a video of what you do on a computer screen using two free screencasting tools, Screencast-O-Matic and Jing. (wmv format)
- HSL's Intro to Excel (March 2013) - Full Class Recording
- HSL's iPad 101 (Feb 2013)Description: A beginners' look at iPads, including settings and some helpful apps. (wmv format)
- HSL's Time Saving Tech Tips (Feb 2013)Description: Learn to leverage productivity apps (Evernote) and shortcuts to save you time and hassle.
- I
- Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Registration (2:26min)This tutorial shows how to register for interlibrary loan and document delivery services available from the UC Health Sciences Library.
- Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice (Duke & UNC Course)This is a highly recommended self-paced tutorial that provides an introduction to the EBM process.
- L
- Lynda.comLog in with your 6+2 username and password to access software, career development, and technology training videos from anywhere using an Internet browser.
- M
- Mendeley - Videos & Tutorials"Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Automatically generate bibliographies, collaborate easily with other researchers online, easily import papers from other research software, find relevant papers based on what you’re reading, access your papers from anywhere online, read papers on the go..." and more.
- Microsoft Office Training CoursesSelf-paced online 2010, 2007, and 2003 training courses for Access, Excel, FrontPage, Outlook, PowerPoint, Publisher, Word, and more
- N
- Natural Standard Database TutorialLearn about the Natural Standard Database features and how to use them.
- NCBI YouTube ChannelVideos include PubMed Advanced Search Builder, Need the Full Text Article?, BLAST Results, Genome Workbench, Sequence Viewer, dbGaP, Epigenomics: How to download data, and many more.
- Nursing: Searching the LiteratureAdobe Connect presentation from Charlie Kishman of the Health Sciences Library on Nursing: Searching the Literature.
- P
- Photoshop CS4 (from Adobe Design Center)
- PICO & Search Strategy Query Worksheet (Ebling Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison)
- PubMed Online Training TutorialsThe following tutorials are brief animated tutorials with audio for using PubMed. Running times are rounded to the nearest minute. Webcasts and handouts are also available from this page. Tutorials include Searching with the MeSH Database, Downloading Results for Use in Reference Management Software, and many others.
- PubMed: Access UC's Full Text Resources from PubMed (1:53min)This tutorial shows how to access full text resources available at the University of Cincinnati from PubMed.
- R
- RefWorks 2.0 Fundamentals Tutorial SeriesTutorials included on Accessing RefWorks, Navigating Refworks, Creating a Standalone Bibliography, and many others.
- RefWorks: Importing PubMed References into RefWorks 2.0 (PDF)
- Retrieve Full Text Articles Not Available at UC (2:38min)A quick tutorial demonstrating how University of Cincinnati students, faculty, and staff can retrieve the full text of articles not available from the UC Health Sciences Library by using our interlibrary loan and document delivery system.
- S
- Scopus Tutorial SeriesTutorials cover searching, analyzing journals, author and affiliation searching, etc.
- Summon - UC Libraries FAQA webpage that answers questions such as What is Summon?, Why use Summon?, Who can use Summon?, etc.
- Summon Advanced (Flash version)This tutorial from UC Blue Ash introduces advanced features, tips, and tricks for the Summon search engine. It's helpful to view the Summon Basics tutorial before continuing.
- Summon Advanced (YouTube version)This tutorial from UC Blue Ash introduces advanced features, tips, and tricks for the Summon search engine. It's helpful to view the Summon Basics tutorial before continuing.
- Summon Basics (Flash version)This video from UC Libraries introduces Summon, a simple and fast search engine.
- Summon Basics (YouTube version)This video from UC Blue Ash introduces Summon, a simple and fast search engine.
- T
- Toxicology Tutorials and Database HelpTutorials and information about SIS's Environmental Health and Toxicology Resources
- Z
- Zotero - Documentation"Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."

Loading...
