Skip to main content

International Students' Library Resources Guide

Video Tour of UC Libraries Home Page

Take this brief tour of the UC Libraries home page.

Finding Online Resources

In addition to resources mentioned in the video above, please note the following.

  • Many electronic reference source (dictionaries, encyclopedias, statistical sources, etc) can be found in the Online Reference Shelf Research Guide.
  • To find electronic resources in the library catalog, on any search screen from the drop-down menu next to " Limit all searches to: (optional)" select "Online Books, Databases, and Journals":

caalog search screen with an option to limit searches to online resources
Please note that this limit will be applied to all subsequent searches. To change your limit or go back to the entire collection, make a selection from the drop-down menu or click the “Start Over” button.

  • UC libraries subscribe to many e-book collections or databases that include e-books in a variety of disciplines. Not all of those books have individual records in the library catalog. You may go directly into the electronic book collections and search or browse their content.

Finding Resources with Summon

Summon is a  user-friendly search engine that searches the library catalog and many databases. View the video below for a brief introduction. Go to Help and FAQ to learn more.

Finding Articles

You can't find an individual article in the library catalog. Learn how to find articles if you have a citation or if you are researching a topic.

Online Full-Text Journals Search Box: Multiple Subjects

Search for Periodical Titles

Browse Periodicals by Subject

Browse Periodical Titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Print Journals, Newspapers, and Magazines

Journal Search Tips include information on finding electronic and print versions of periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Current print periodicals are stored in a designated area in each library. Periodicals for previous years are arranged by umber and stored together with books. Some periodicals are available on microforms. Library staff will help you find the microforms and use them.

If you cannot find the item on the shelf, a librarian at the circulation/service desk will be happy to assist you.

 

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati