Citing Landing

Citing Resources

Use the style guides and resources listed below to help you cite your sources appropriately.

Citation management tools are also listed, for keeping track of your sources and completed citations.

EndNote
EndNote basic gives you the tools for learning how to do research, cite sources, write term papers, and even match your manuscript to a scientific journal.
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.
RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
Zotero
Zotero is the only research tool that automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for with just a few keystrokes.

APA Academic Writer
APA Academic Writer offers a plethora of tools to facilitate the writing and research process and to ensure compliance with APA style. APA Academic Writer (formerly Style Central) is the consummate tool for learning and using APA style for a wide range of users: undergraduates, graduates and faculty.
Citing Your Sources : APA
This guide, created by UC Librarian Olga Hart, was created to provides users with resources about citing sources using APA.
Purdue OWL : APA
Purdue OWL will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. It contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, and slide presentations.

Citing Your Sources : MLA
This guide, created by UC Librarian, Olga Hart, was created to provides users with resources about citing sources using MLA.
MLA Style Center
The MLA Style Center, published by the Modern Language Association, is the only authorized Web site about MLA style. This free, evolving resource is designed as a companion to the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.
Purdue OWL : MLA
Purdue OWL will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. It contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as MLA sample papers, and slide presentations.

The Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. It is the indispensable reference for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers, informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice.
Citing Your Sources : Chicago/Turabian
This guide, created by UC Librarian, Olga Hart, was created to provides users with resources about citing sources using Chicago Manual of Style and Turabian.
Purdue OWL : Chicago
Purdue OWL will help you learn how to use the Chicago Manual of Style citation and format style. It contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as Chicago Manual of Style sample papers, and slide presentations.

See the PDF below for guidance on citing images and photographs in APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

See the PDFs below for guidance on citing videos in APA, MLA, and Chicago style.

See the PDFs below for guidance on citing sound in APA, MLA, and Chicago style.

The counts have determined that it is within fair use to download thumbnail images from a website without asking permission or paying a licensing fee.
However, downloading full size images from a web site does not meet the fair use criteria. Unless the site clearly states that it is permissible to download images for free, you must request permission and possibly pay a licensing fee to do so.

The use of an image must meet the following criteria in order to be considered "fair use":

The purpose and character of the use, including whether such use is of a commercial nature or is for nonprofit educational purposes.
The nature of the copyrighted work.
The amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole.
The effect of the use upon the potential market for, or value of, the copyrighted work.