Comprehensive Encyclopedia. Excellent starting point for research. Most articles have their own bibliographies. Incorporates New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., New Grove Dictionary of Opera, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed., Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed. Contains over 50,000 articles. Updated continuously
Indexes over 475 journals. Began in print in 1949; online coverage begins 1970. For articles written prior to 1970, consult annual cumulative volumes in the print version (CCM Library Reference ML1 .M74). Includes links to full-text where available
Abstracts to 500,000 articles, books (conference proceedings, Festschriften) and dissertations for the period 1967-present. Over 30,000 records are added to the database each year. Includes links to full-text where available.
Dissertations and Theses includes full-text to over 800¸000 dissertations from 1997 forward. The database includes also full-text to all UC dissertations published in electronic format. In addition¸ the database includes citations to dissertations from 1861-Present and Abstracts from 1980 forward. 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Coverage: 1861 - present
The International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM) is an international¸ non-profit joint venture which aims to comprehensively document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music¸ works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries¸ archives¸ monasteries¸ schools and private collections. The organization¸ founded in Paris in 1952¸ is the largest and the only global operation that registers written musical sources. RISM documents what exists and where it is stored.