Skip to main content

NEW RefWorks (The Next-Generation RefWorks)

A new version of RefWorks is now available.

WELCOME to the "NEW" RefWorks Information Portal

Welcome to the University of Cincinnati Libraries portal for the "New" RefWorks  The purpose of this portal is to connect UC students, faculty and staff with the information and resources they may require to effectively transition to the New RefWorks service and to explore and utilize all of the robust features of this new citation and reference management service.

How to use the RefWorks Portal

Use the navigation tabs on the left to identify and access topics related to services and features of the New RefWorks service/platform.

Announcements

New page added for Release Notes

(9/3/2017)

  The new Release Notes page will keep you current on the latest announced new fixes and features for RefWorks.  Check this page periodically to keep apprised of RefWorks developments.

Instruction for NEW RefWorks

(1/15/2017)

  UC Libraries is now offering classroom instruction for the NEW RefWorks.  Please see the Calendar of Classes for the new dates and times of these sessions.

"NEW" RefWorks

(8/12/2016)

  UC Libraries has posted new offerings of west-campus RefWorks classes.  Please see the UC Libraries' Calendar of Classes to discover the focus, time, date and location of these RefWorks workshops.  Currently, these sessions are based on Legacy RefWorks, though increasing amounts of class time will address the New RefWorks and the issues regarding migration of your Legacy RefWorks account to a New RefWorks account. 

NEW RefWorks Introduced

(6/30/2016)

 

The NEW RefWorks officially became available for all UC students, faculty and staff on January 1st of 2016.  The New RefWorks will eventually replace the current version (Legacy) of RefWorks in 2018.

 

 

 

What is the "New" RefWorks and What can it do for you?

New RefWorks offers all of the bulleted features of Legacy RefWorks listed below.  Additionally, New RefWorks offers many new features, including automatic data collection, expanded sharing capabilities and enhanced full-text document collection and management. 

  • RefWorks is an Internet-based research records management service that facilitates the collection and management of citations to articles, books, web pages and many other types of sources.
  • RefWorks is licensed by the University of Cincinnati Libraries and is available at no cost to all students, faculty and staff. 
  • RefWorks can facilitate many of the most tedious aspects of your research work by empowering you to:
  • Electronically collect, organize and manage your references in a personal database
  • Easily format bibliographies, footnotes and in-text citations into almost any output style
  • Conveniently link references to full-text articles, eliminating unwieldy storage of paper copy
  • Access your personal database 24/7 anywhere you have Internet access
  • Collaborate with other RefWorks users on a shared project
  • Share references from your RefWorks database with anyone who has Internet access
  • Automatic quarterly upgrades (no installation required)
  • (New) Auto completion of references and suggestions from Summon
  • (New) Easy one click saving of individual web pages or references from research literature databases
  • (New) Automated recognition of uploaded documents
  • (New) Built-in document reading for PDF, RTF and MS Office files
  • (New) Enhanced sharing of documents with the ability to highlight and add notes.
  • (New) Automatic identification of missing style elements, e.g. doi or journal title
  • (New) Off-line access to all of your full-text attachments (documents)
  • (New) Option to add multiple attachments to the same reference.
  • (New) Global editing to add, replace and delete data

Why Change Platforms??

There are many reasons to migrate your Legacy RefWorks data to New RefWorks, but  there is probably no urgency to do so. However, that decision rests in your hands. Here are some reasons to change and some reasons not to change, at least for now.  If you remain undecided after reviewing the "reasons" below, why not explore the NEW RefWorks by setting up an account and adding new references to it.  The navigation bar on the left will supply you with ample assistance to get started.  Further, even if you migrate your Legacy RefWorks account data to your NEW RefWorks account your Legacy RefWorks account remains unchanged and unaffected.

            Reasons to change

  • You want to use RefWorks to collect and manage your full text documents (mostly PDF articles).  New RefWorks is clearly superior to Legacy RefWorks for this capability.
  • You prefer or even require improved accuracy and comprehensiveness for collecting information (meta data) for your RefWorks references.  New RefWorks uses a new auto-fill utility to pull from ProQuests’ vast array of databases to fill in missing or inaccurate information for RefWorks references.
  • Legacy RefWorks has a termination date, albeit it is not before 2019.  You might as well migrate now and give yourself some time to “learn” New RefWorks before it is forced on you.

            Reasons NOT to change, at least for now

  • The main reason NOT to change is if you are currently using Write-N-Cite from Legacy RefWorks to work on a research paper or manuscript.  ProQuest currently advises that users do NOT switch from Legacy to NEW RefWorks in this situation.  First, finish your document with Legacy RefWorks’ Write-N-Cite.   Subsequently you can migrate your data from Legacy to New RefWorks and then begin any new research papers or manuscripts with the Write-N-Cite utility for New RefWorks
  • You use significant functionalities in Legacy RefWorks that are not yet available in New RefWorks.  For example, New RefWorks does not have an integrated RSS Feed Reader; nor does it have author, descriptor or periodical browse indexes.
Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati