Skip to main content

Nursing

RefWorks on iPad

This page highlights how to use RefWorks on an iPad. Feel free to contact any of the health sciences librarians if you have a question.

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography manager that makes it easy to import references to articles, books, web pages and other types of sources from online databases. RefWorks is licensed by the University of Cincinnati and is available at no cost to all students, faculty and staff. Training and tutorials for all devices are available, but there are some specific differences when using RefWorks on an iPad.

Importing from Scopus

The Scopus database interface provides a very straight-forward mechanism for exporting references into RefWorks.

  1. After conducting your literature search in Scopus and checking the references you wish to export, click the Export link from the toolbar:
    Screengrab of Scopus database with Export link in toolbar highlighted

  2. Click the option for RefWorks direct export from the pop-up, then click Export:
    Screengrab of Scopus database with RefWorks direct export link in pop-up highlighted

  3. Choose the RefWorks legacy option on the left (unless you have already migrated your RefWorks account):
    Screengrab of RefWorks import options with legacy option highighted

  4. Your Scopus references are imported into RefWorks. Click View Last Imported Folder to view these references:
    Screengrab of successful RefWorks imported with link to View Last Imported Folder highlighted

  5. References imported from Scopus are indicated by the Scopus icon in the toolbar above each reference in RefWorks:
    Screengrab of RefWorks references list with link to Scopus reference in toolbar highlighted

Importing from CINAHL

Typically, the preferred method is to save multiple references to a folder and export simultaneously; however, there is a limitation on the iPad interface that prevents exporting multiple citations. There is a work-around to export references one at a time from the detailed record view.

CINAHL to RefWorks on iPad Video Transcript

  1. This video will demonstrate how to import references from CINAHL to RefWorks on an iPad.
  2. If you are off campus, you will first want to connect to the VPN through the pulse secure app.
  3. Open safari on your iPad.
  4. Navigate to the UC Health Sciences Library webpage
  5. Libraries dot uc dot edu slash hsl
  6. Click databases
  7. Click CINAHL
  8. Conduct your search in CINAHL
  9. Click the title of the reference you wish to import to view the detailed record
  10. Click export
  11. Select Direct export to RefWorks
  12. Click save
  13. Choose Export to legacy RefWorks
  14. If you are not already logged in, log in to your RefWorks account
  15. Click view last imported folder to view your reference in RefWorks
  16. To import additional references, return to your CINAHL search
  17. Click results list to display all references
  18. Repeat the steps to import additional references

Importing from PubMed

PubMed to RefWorks on iPad Video Transcript

  1. This video will demonstrate how to import references from PubMed to RefWorks on an iPad.
  2. If you are off campus, you will first want to connect to the VPN through the pulse secure app.
  3. Open safari on your iPad.
  4. Navigate to the UC Health Sciences Library webpage
  5. Libraries dot uc dot edu slash hsl
  6. Click databases
  7. Click PubMed
  8. Conduct your search in PubMed
  9. Select your references
  10. Click send to
  11. Citation manager
  12. Then create file
  13. Click more
  14. Then add to iCloud drive
  15. Your citations will be saved as a dot N B I B file
  16. Click iCloud drive
  17. Next, open a new tab in safari
  18. Go to RefWorks dot com
  19. If you are not already logged in, log in to your RefWorks account
  20. Scroll down to the Quick Access menu
  21. Click import
  22. Select NLM PubMed from the import filter dropdown
  23. Click choose file
  24. Select the dot NBIB file that you wish to import
  25. Click import
  26. Click view last imported folder to view your references in RefWorks 

Write-N-Cite

The RefWorks Write-N-Cite add-in is not currently supported by the Microsoft Word iPad app; however, if you have installed the Mac desktop version of Office365, you can use the RefWorks Citation Manager add-in.

If your iPad is your only device, you may also use the One Line Cite option, until RefWorks makes the Write-N-Cite add-in compatible with the Word iPad app. 

One Line Cite for Microsoft Word iPad app

RefWorks One Line Cite on iPad Transcript

  1. This video will demonstrate how to use the One Line Cite function of RefWorks to generate citations and bibliographies in the Microsoft Word iPad app.
  2. Open safari on your ipad
  3. Go to RefWorks dot com
  4. If you are not already logged in, log in to your RefWorks account
  5. Select the folder that contains the references you wish to cite in your paper
  6. Click on the orange brackets in the gray toolbar for the reference you wish to cite
  7. Select all of the text in the citation viewer
  8. Copy the text
  9. Open the Microsoft Word iPad app
  10. Click the place in your Word document where the citation needs to be inserted
  11. Click paste
  12. Repeat these steps as necessary until your paper is complete
  13. To cite multiple references simultaneously, return to RefWorks and click the orange brackets for each reference you wish to include
  14. When your paper is complete, save a draft in the Word format
  15. Next click the File menu in the Microsoft Word app, then choose Export
  16. Select OpenDocument Text a dot O D T file extension
  17. Click More
  18. Click iCloudDrive
  19. Export the dot O D T file
  20. Go back to your refworks tab in safari
  21. Click Create Bibliography
  22. Then click “format a paper and bibliography”
  23. Choose your output option from the dropdown
  24. Click Select a file
  25. Click iCloud Drive
  26. Select the O D T file you wish to import
  27. Click Click here from the pop up
  28. Click Open in Word
  29. Your in-text citations have now been formatted in the chosen output style
  30. Click Duplicate
  31. Change the file name if needed
  32. And click Save
  33. Return to your RefWorks tab in Safari
  34. Click Create Bibliography
  35. Include references from the applicable folder
  36. Select the output style
  37. And click Create Bibliography
  38. Click Click here from the pop up
  39. Select all of the text
  40. And copy
  41. Open Word
  42. And paste at the end of your document
  43. Save the Word document
  44. Your in-text citations and bibliography have been created. Be sure to double check for any errors
  45. If you anticipate needing to change output styles at any point, save the O D T file which can be reimported into RefWorks.
Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati