"This white paper presents results from 879 secondary and higher education instructors who provided data on the prevalence and problematic nature of each of the 10 types of plagiarism in the Spectrum." Watch a webcast, see the infographic or request a free poster.
Today's students are tomorrow's leaders, and the college years are a critical period for their development of ethical standards. Cheating in College explores how and why students cheat and what policies, practices, and participation may be useful in promoting academic integrity and reducing cheating. The authors investigate trends over time, including internet-based cheating. They consider personal and situational explanations, such as the culture of groups in which dishonesty is more common (such as business majors) and social settings that support cheating (such as fraternities and sororities). Faculty and administrators are increasing their efforts to promote academic honesty among students. Orientation and training sessions, information on college and university websites, student handbooks that describe codes of conduct, honor codes, and course syllabi all define cheating and establish the consequences. Based on the authors' multiyear, multisite surveys, Cheating in College quantifies and analyzes student cheating to demonstrate why academic integrity is important and to describe the cultural efforts that are effective in restoring it.
Call Number: CECH ProfEd, Clermont Stacks, LB3609 .C74 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
In this edited volume, higher education experts and scholars tackle the challenge of understanding why ethical misconduct occurs in the academy and how we can address it. For those who believe in the promise of higher education to shape a better future, this may be a time of unprecedented despair.
Since human beings have been writing it seems there has been plagiarism. It is not something that sprouted with the advent of the Internet. Teachers have been struggling for years in countries all over the globe to find good methods for dealing with the problem of plagiarizing students. How do we spot plagiarism? How do we teach them not to plagiarize? And how do we deal with those who have been found out to be plagiarists? The purpose of this book is to collect material on the various aspects of plagiarism in education with special attention given to the German problem of dissertation plagiarism. Since there is a wide-spread interest in the German plagiarism situation and in strategies for dealing with it, the book is written in English in order to be accessible to a larger audience.
The book brings together diverse views from around the world and provides a comprehensive overview of the subject, beginning with different definitions of academic integrity through how to create the ethical academy. At the same time, the Handbook does not shy away from some of the vigorous debates in the field such as the causes of academic integrity breaches. There has been an explosion of interest in academic integrity in the last 10-20 years. New technologies that have made it easier than ever for students to 'cut and paste', coupled with global media scandals of high profile researchers behaving badly, have resulted in the perception that plagiarism is 'on the rise'. This, in combination with the massification and commercialisation of higher education, has resulted in a burgeoning interest in the importance of academic integrity, how to safeguard it and how to address breaches appropriately. What may have seemed like a relatively easy topic to address - students copying sources without attribution - has in fact, turned out to be a very complex, interdisciplinary field of research requiring contributions from linguists, psychologists, social scientists, anthropologists, teaching and learning specialists, mathematicians, accountants, medical doctors, lawyers and philosophers, to name just a few. Despite or perhaps because of this broad interest and input, there has been no single authoritative reference work which brings together the vast, growing, interdisciplinary and at times contradictory body of literature. For both established researchers/practitioners and those new to the field, this Handbook provides a one-stop-shop as well as a launching pad for new explorations and discussions.
Written for Higher Education educators, managers and policy-makers, Plagiarism, the Internet and Student Learning combines theoretical understandings with a practical model of plagiarism and aims to explain why and how plagiarism developed. It offers a new way to conceptualize plagiarism and provides a framework for professionals dealing with plagiarism in higher education. Sutherland-Smith presents a model of plagiarism, called the plagiarism continuum, which usefully informs discussion and direction of plagiarism management in most educational settings. The model was developed from a cross-disciplinary examination of plagiarism with a particular focus on understanding how educators and students perceive and respond to issues of plagiarism. The evolution of plagiarism, from its birth in Law, to a global issue, poses challenges to international educators in diverse cultural settings. The case studies included are the voices of educators and students discussing the complexity of plagiarism in policy and practice, as well as the tensions between institutional and individual responses. A review of international studies plus qualitative empirical research on plagiarism, conducted in Australia between 2004-2006, explain why it has emerged as a major issue. The book examines current teaching approaches in light of issues surrounding plagiarism, particularly Internet plagiarism. The model affords insight into ways in which teaching and learning approaches can be enhanced to cope with the ever-changing face of plagiarism. This book challenges Higher Education educators, managers and policy-makers to examine their own beliefs and practices in managing the phenomenon of plagiarism in academic writing.
Barry Gilmore is participating in a FREE on-line roundtable webinar "Plagiarism in the Digital Age: Voices from the Front Lines -- What's Happening in High Schools Now." To learn more visit www.plagiarism.org. Plainly put, plagiarism isn't acceptable. But what's not so simple for students to understand is what exactly plagiarism is, how it happens, and how to avoid it. That's why Barry Gilmore's Plagiarism: A How-Not-To Guide for Students is a must-have for student writers. In Plagiarism: A How-Not-To Guide for Students, Barry Gilmore follows up on his teacher's guide Plagiarism: Why It Happens How to Prevent It. Gilmore doesn't sugarcoat plagiarism, but he offers writers reasoned and reasonable solutions. His savvy handbook: speaks directly to students in lively language about what plagiarism is and how it happens presents case studies drawn from real-world events as well as student examples never talks down and invites students to think and talk about plagiarism outlines the consequences of plagiarism without resorting to fear or intimidation. Gilmore provides all the dos and don'ts students need. With his book students will: get explicit guidelines for MLA and APA citation find out how to use search engines well and document their results appropriately learn to properly summarize and paraphrase third-party material understand what is common knowledge and what isn't. Plagiarism: A How-Not-To Guide for Students goes well beyond plagiarism avoidance. It builds students' ethical awareness about what cheating is. And it leads them to understand why using their own words is important and, ultimately, more satisfying. Give your students Plagiarism: A How-Not-To Guide for Students for every paper they will write-across the years, across the content areas. Or better yet, use it alongside Barry Gilmore's teacher's guide, Plagiarism: Why It Happens How to Prevent It. Because your greatest allies in preventing academic dishonesty are well-informed students. To request this title as a Desk/Exam copy, click here. Hear a podcast where Barry Gilmore answers Carol Jago's questions about responding to and preventing plagiarism. Save 20% off the web price when you buy 5 packs of Plagiarism: A How-Not-To Guide for Students. Save 20% off the web price when you buy the Plagiarism Class Pack-25 copies of Plagiarism: A How-Not-To Guide for Students + 1 copy of the Plagiarism teacher's guide.
Call Number: CECH Prof Ed, Clermont Stacks. PN167 .G47 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-08
You dread confronting students who have plagiarized. But every year you have to. By the time you detect a simple citation mistake or a research misdemeanor, it's too late. The right prevention strategy can reduce or eliminate the incidence of plagiarism. And in Barry Gilmore's Plagiarism, you'll get classroom-tested prevention strategies and much more. Copycats aren't all the same. Some are dishonest, some merely confused. That's why Barry Gilmore (bestselling author of "Is It Done Yet?" and Speaking Volumes) presents a full menu of strategies for prevention. Plagiarism's ideas work inside and outside your classroom: Use Plagiarism to build students' understanding of plagiarism and set expectations for academic honesty. Use the Plagiarism Study Guide with colleagues to discuss and implement Gilmore's prevention techniques in your department. Give your principal Plagiarism to initiate a schoolwide plagiarism discussion. Watch how Plagiarism's approachhelps students detect plagiarism before you ever have to. And for those times when you must confront academic dishonesty, Plagiarism models effective detection and response. It tells you how to turn writing's worst offense into a powerful teaching moment. You'll help students: understand the seriousness of the issue learn prewriting and research strategies that encourage originality write in their own voices. The potential for plagiarism is ever present. But with Barry Gilmore's help, you can stop it before students hand in their papers. Read Plagiarism. From prevention to detection to intervention, you'll reduce academic dishonesty and help students see the importance of their own words-before it's too late. Hear a podcast where Barry Gilmore answers Carol Jago's questions about responding to and preventing plagiarism.
Designed to be of use to all levels of educators working with students--from high school to post-graduate--this book addresses the problems and concerns facing librarians and educators involved in the process of teaching academic honesty. Many of the original authors from The Plagiarism Plague have returned with new essays along with new voices, a majority of whom represent the next generation of librarianship, the Web 2.0 professional. Stop Plagiarism contains background material, web resources, a collection of sample exercises, and an interactive CD that provides tools an educator can use to stop plagiarism. One of three videos on the CD features an animated interactive quiz that helps student understand when they must include a citation. The authors have also established an anti-plagiarism wiki where readers are encouraged to participate in the on-going conversation on plagiarism. This book is a one-stop source for anyone who wants to understand why students knowingly or unknowingly plagiarize, who needs materials for teaching academic integrity, and who will benefit from a current resource guide to tools for actively detecting plagiarism.
Twenty years ago, plagiarism was seen as an isolated misdemeanor, restricted to a small group of students. Today it is widely recognized as a ubiquitous, systemic issue, compounded by the accessibility of content in the virtual environment.Student Plagiarism in an Online World: Problems & Solutions describes the legal and ethical issues surrounding plagiarism, the tools and techniques available to combat the spreading of this problem, and real-life situational examples to further the understanding of the scholars, practitioners, educators, and instructional designers who will find this book an invaluable resource.