Skip to main content

Society Papers (Engineering)

Society Papers in the CEAS Library

Need help?  Ask a CEAS Librarian

Society Papers in the CEAS Library

Note: Additional papers from engineering societies may be listed on the Proceedings Online page. 

American Helicopter Society (AHS)

  • Indexed in COMPENDEX and the Aerospace Database.
  • Selected papers 1953 through 1993 in the CEAS Library.
  • Papers from 2000 through 2015 published in AHS Annual Forum (TL716.A1 A52).

American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

American Rocket Society (ARS)

  • Indexed in COMPENDEX
  • Selected papers from 1949 through 1961 in the CEAS Library.

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)

American Society of Lubrication Engineers (ASLE) (1958-1987)  (Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers (STLE) 1988-present)

  • Indexed in COMPENDEX,
  • Many conference papers 1958-  are published online in the ASLE/Tribology Transactions
  • Also selected conference papers 1956-1983 the CEAS Library collection.
  • Also check annual conference proceedings owned by the CEAS Library.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) 

  • Some papers are published as part of the society journals. This is noted when the papers are referenced in COMPENDEX.
  • Check COMPENDEX for name of conference then the UC Library or OHIOLINK catalogs to determine if the conference can be obtained.
  • The CEAS Library has a large collection of selected individual ASME papers from 1945-2001.
  • Recent selected conferences through 2010 are in the CEAS Library collection.
  • If not available, please request through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

  • Indexed in COMPENDEX and INSPEC.
  • Full-text is available for most IEEE conference papers (1988- ) in the IEEE Xplore database
  • Pre-1988 papers may be found in selected IEEE conferences purchased in print or in microfiche # 64
  • AIEE papers from 1955-1961 on the upper level of CEAS Library

Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)

  • Indexed in COMPENDEX and INSPEC.
  • Full-text is available for most IET conference papers from 1988 to the present in the IEEE Xplore database

Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) 

  • Indexed (through 2005) in the SAE Publications & Standards Database located on CEAS Library CDROM station # 1.
  • Some papers are published as part of the SAE Transactions (the SAE journals) (TL1.S6). Library has through 2008. Check the Annual Index.
  • The CEAS Library has the papers from 1987 through 1995 on microfiche and also selected papers between 1943 and 1987 and after 1995.
  • Some papers are contained in the SAE Special Publications (SP) (catalogued in the UC Library or OhioLINK catalogs).
  • Other papers can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).

Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) 

  • Check COMPENDEX to obtain the paper number
  • The CEAS Library has from selected papers from 1974-1977 and from 1979-2011 on in microfiche (microfiche collection #65). The microfiche are filed by section and then by paper number. A title search in the UC Library Catalog, under "SME Technical Paper", will retrieve a listing of the individual SME papers held by the CEAS Library.
     

Return to Guide to the CEAS Library

Return to CEAS Library Subject Guides

Return to CEAS Library

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati