Skip to main content

UC Health

This portal provides information for UC Health employees from the University of Cincinnati Medical Center, UC Physicians, West Chester Hospital, Drake Center, and the Lindner Center of Hope.

First time users: Requesting an Article Using the Online Request System ILLiad

If UC does not have the article you want, request it through ILLiad, the online request system.

Key to a seamless process:

UC Health First time users: Instructions are included in your registration email.

Benefits:

  • Login using your ILL username and password (first time users see note above)
  • Fill out a profile once and ILLiad will supply your information for all future requests
  • Able to track requests by logging into ILLiad
  • Able to revise citations and re-submit requests, or cancel requests electronically
  • Able to request an article on the spot when searching a database via the UC Article Linker button.

Off Campus Access Proxy Login

Once you log in, you will be returned to the library homepage. The word "proxy" should appear somewhere in the URL (e.g. proxy.libraries.uc.edu/). If you see that, you are in the proxy server. As you navigate to the online resource you're interested in using, if you get to your destination and you no longer have "proxy" in the URL, you may have fallen out of the proxy server.

Off Campus Access Information & Tips - This page has information and tips related to off-campus access.

If you have any questions please contact a Health Sciences Librarian.

Due to subscription and licensing agreements, certain library resources are restricted to UC faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.

Finding Full Text Journals

Search for Periodical Titles

Browse Periodicals by Subject

Browse Periodical Titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Finding Full Text

Many databases available through UC provide links to the full text article. To find out if the full text is available from UC, look for the UC Article Linker icon UC Article Linker.

E-Journal Tips and Tricks

Donald C. Harrison Health Sciences Library

University of Cincinnati Libraries

1.  Off Campus Access

§  If you are at home, University Hospital, UC Physicians or anywhere else away from the UC campus, you must use the proxy server. 

§  You will not be able to access any e-Journals or other library resources from off campus without using the proxy server. 

§  Proxy Server: http://www.libraries.uc.edu/hsl/services/off-campus-access.html

2.  PubMed full text

§  PubMed is free to everyone in the world.  If you limit your search to “free full text” you are only limiting it to the free full text that PubMed provides to everyone in the world – not what UC pays for!  

§  The health sciences library (HSL) has set up special links with PubMed to our electronic subscriptions – you will only see our special links if you are on campus or if you used the proxy server from off campus.  Use the PubMed link on the library’s home page.

§  For UC’s full electronic text, look for the Article Linker button:

§  Some publishers put their own buttons there, such as:    

Everyone in the world sees these buttons – they are not guaranteed to work and have nothing to do with UC.  If they do work, it is a  coincidence! Do not rely on these buttons.

§  If in doubt, check our online catalog and/or “e-journals” webpage– you might find we have a journal that you cannot get to through PubMed…it does happen!

3.  e-Journals Link

§  Use the e-Journals link on the HSL homepage to search our electronic subscriptions

§  Search by:

·         Known article

·         Journal title

·         PubMed ID number (PMID)

·         Browse by journal title or subject

§  Results will show you the various providers that will lead you to the journal or article

§  Note the date restrictions on some of the journals – choose accordingly

§  Double check the online catalog if you do not see the journal in your e-Journals search

4. Online Library Catalog (http://uclid.uc.edu/)

§  If all other methods fail, check the catalog!

§  Contains electronic and print subscriptions

§  Search for the journal title – not the article title

§  Use the “Title” tab search function or the “Journal” tab search function

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati