Skip to main content

Urban Studies Resources

This is a guide to the Urban Studies resources at the University of Cincinnati's Archives and Rare Books Library.

What is the Urban Studies Collection?

The Urban Studies Collection in the Archives and Rare Books Library documents the development of the city in 20th and 21st century America, particularly in Greater Cincinnati, which serves as a case study area. By providing a topical focus for the gathering of materials related to urban life, the collection furthers research into the process of urban life and culture and the history of the city of Cincinnati.  Topics addressed in the Urban Studies collection include:

  • Activism

  • Arts

  • Housing

  • General Cincinnati History

  • Labor History

  • Neighborhood Change

  • Politics

  • Planning

  • Race Relations

  • Sports and Leisure

Using Archival Resources

How is using archival collections different from using other resources?  This guide by the Society of American Archivists can help you distinguish the differences.

Visit the Archives and Rare Books Library

The Archives and Rare Books Library (ARB)  is located in Blegen Library on the University of Cincinnati's main (West) campus.   ARB is open to the University community and the public Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. except for University holidays. We ask that patrons make an appointment, especially if traveling from a distance. Some of our material is stored in an offsite facility and take at least 5 business days to be made available. 

Notice of Non-Discrimination | Copyright Information © 2015 University of Cincinnati