The following research databases are some of the most used resources for architecture & interior design research. More design, art, architecture, and planning databases can be found in the A-Z List of Databases.
4 combined databases:
ReVIEW: (full text) arts and architecture journals.
ProFILES: Biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects.
Design Abstracts Retrospective: (abstracts) decorative, applied arts and design journals published between 1900-1986.
Research Sources: 1. THE POSTER: extensive information on the Poster
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995¸ high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984¸ including 280 peer-reviewed journals¸ as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13¸000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200¸000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements¸ including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine¸ decorative and commercial art¸ folk art¸ photography¸ film¸ and architecture¸ and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Coverage: 1984 - present
Art Index Retrospective¸ 1929 -1984¸ provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine¸ decorative¸ and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications¸ many of which are peer-reviewed¸ and citations of over 25¸000 book reviews.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1¸000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology¸ city planning¸ interior design¸ and historic preservation¸ as well as architecture. Updated daily¸ the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers 1977 to the present¸ with more than 229¸000 records.
Coverage: 1977 - present
Designed to help building-industry professionals design and build construction projects from a whole-systems perspective and take an integrated design approach that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance. Includes access to Environmental building news articles¸ lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines¸ detailed project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database¸ and publications from BuildingGreen Pittsburgh papers.
Material ConneXion is the world's leading knowledge base for information about new and innovative materials. The database provides comprehensive information about over 3¸500 innovative materials and processes¸ with more being added each month.
Oxford Art Online is an authoritative¸ inclusive¸ and easily searchable online art resource. Through a single gateway users can access-and simultaneously cross-search-an expanding range of Oxford's art reference works: Grove Art Online¸ the Benezit Dictionary of Artists¸ the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics¸ The Oxford Companion to Western Art¸ and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms¸ as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.